caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fever

Just had to comment on my lovely day. Had to pick up a miserably sick YB at school; the evil secretary acted like she completely thought he was faking and informed me he DID NOT have a temperature. He was extremely flushed, acting totally lethargic (I don't think I've ever seen him not bouncing off the walls, so I knew something was wrong) and said his head hurt, which is not what 7 year olds usually would say if they're faking it -- when I taught last year, I learned that it's always a tummyache, if it's fake. Anyway, I took his temp when we got home, and it was 101.9! I called the school back and politely suggested that perhaps they should check their thermometer, and maybe feel a kid's forehead before they accuse him of faking. ES, needless to say, was not impressed by my ire. I can't wait to get YB out of this school system. They are completely detestable.

So we ran out and got popsicles, and apple juice, and the usually comfort stuff, and I called the doctor, who of course told me to force fluids and watch him until tomorrow morning, at which time Dr. will deign to look at him if he is still running a temp. Then YB decided, after his popsicle, that he needed to throw up, and of course didn't make it to the bathroom, so now we have red popsicle stain on our carpet. Then he was just miserable, and couldn't even keep baby tylenol down, so all I could do was get him to chew ice chips and let him fall asleep on me while we were reading. It does make me feel good, in some obscure way, that he trusted me to take care of him when he was sick. He didn't ask for Nana, or anyone, just leaned up against me and went to sleep.

Maybe there's hope, after all.

11:47 p.m. - 2001-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: