caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sick Day

Sick day today. YB stayed home due to his fever and sore throat, which was pronounced strep by the doctor. (No kidding.) It was BB's day off, and since I was up so late with YB and then again early this morning, I called in. Rather lazy of me, but at 5:30 this morning I was exhasted, had a raging headache, and just could not deal with the idea of work.

YB came and crawled into bed with us, and he immediately went back to sleep. I, of course, was now awake for the duration. Crawled out of bed around 7 and collapsed onto the couch in the living room, where I drifted in and out of sleep for a while. BB took YB to the doctor and then proceeded on to Target to get prescriptions, etc, filled, so I had a morning to myself for once. It was quite lovely, despite the fact that I did nothing but lie on the couch and watch tv, and read a bit.
Course, after they got home BB got pissy bc the phone kept ringing, and when I exasperatedly snapped at him to get a grip, he went pouting off to the bedroom. YB fell asleep on the couch shortly thereafter, but woke up crying from a nightmare, which he tends to get when he's sick. He wanted to watch tv after that, but then got really upset over the show he was watching. It was a major overreaction, which I chalked up to the remnants of the nightmare and not feeling well, but he was terribly upset, crying and all, so we went and lay down on his bed, and cuddled while I read Junie B. Jones and Some Sneeky Peeky Spying to him. It made us both giggle, which perked him up. BB had gone to sleep for a much needed nap, and when he got up he was in a better mood, thankfully.

I just finished planting my windowboxes. They are very nice, with petunias, moss roses, and clown flowers. I am really looking forward to having a yard to plant flowers in, and I do hope we manage that before the end of the summer. I really want to plant tulip bulbs in the fall. Tulips are still absolutely my favorite flower, and I want a lot of them around my house.

I also tidied up my sewing area, taught YB to sew a seam on the sewing machine, started a new book (Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer. Judgment pending.), and organized some of my fabric by color. So it wasn't a total loss of a day, and I have flowerpots lining my kitchen window. But I really don't have the urge to consider anything deeply or be at all introspective, and since this is frankly a rather boring report of my day, I'll give up now and go to bed early.

9:02 p.m. - 2001-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: