caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Careful

This is my 2nd entry today, but I'm not going to write anything myself. I just feel the need to put these words down where I can see them often, and remind myself.

How do you say to a child in the night
Nothing?s all black but then nothing?s all white
How do you say it will all be alright
When you know that it mightn?t be true
What do you do?

Careful the things you say
Children will listen
Careful the things you do
Children will see and learn
Children may not obey
But children will listen
Children will look to you for which way to turn
To learn what to be
Careful before you say listen to me
Children will listen

Careful the wish you make
Wishes are children
Careful the path they take
Wishes come true, not free
Careful the spell you cast
Not just on children
Sometimes the spell may last
Past what you can see
And turn against you
Careful the tale you tell
That is the spell
Children will listen

How do you say to a child who?s in flight
Don?t slip away and I won?t hold so tight
What can you say that no matter how slight
Won?t be misunderstood
What do you leave to your child when you're dead
Only whatever you?ve put in his head
Things that your father and mother had said
Which were left to them too

Careful what you say
Children will listen
Careful you do it too
Children will see and learn
Guide them but step away
And children will listen
Tamper with what is true
And children will turn
If just to be free
Careful before you say
Listen to me
Children will listen

I think those words should be engraved on the heart of everyone who has responsibility for a child.

8:38 a.m. - 2001-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: