caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

puppy

Gah. I haven't written since Thurday, and that was (counts on fingers) 4 whole days ago. What a weekend. I really couldn't even formulate my thoughts enough to compose coherent sentences, or get together enough energy to type them anyway.

Let's see. Friday. Worked. Waved YB off with Dementors. Went to dinner and Sam's Club w/ my mom. I love Sam's Club -- you just never know what crap you will find there. Despite the fact that I refuse to darken the door of a Wal-Mart, and have no desire to add any income to the Walton empire, I still like Sam's. Where else can you buy a huge box of croissants, 36 pounds of cat litter, the new Jan Burke paperback, and and 5 pound bag of Creme Savers (orange flavor)?

Then we came back to the apartment and watched C-SPAN's American Writers series, the episode on Mary Chesnut, while working on the layout for YB's quilt. Turned on CSPAN bc when we got home, there was a nearly incoherent message on my machine from the Queen telling me to turn it on. When I did, the first person I saw was one of her history profs from grad school, the one who excuses slavery because it wasn't nearly as bad as some people make it out to be, and besides, it was technically legal in those days. Yeah, and the South shall rise again. (He belives that too.) Then, lo and behold, there appeared my old boss from my grad school internship, he of rubber mallet and "What is it DOING there?" fame. Truly scary to see him on television. And Queen and I were not impressed by the mishandling of historical documents going on on that program; Chesnut's biographer had an original diary out and was flipping through it, in the South Carolina heat and humidty, not to mention the flaunting of the Ordinance of Secessions and 150 year old letters flapping in the breeze. Couldn't have been good for them.

So, Saturday. Early Saturday we get a call from Dementor #1. YB has chicken pox. Woke up that morning covered with it, and a 103 temp. Poor kid. He just got over strep throat, is having problems with his teeth requiring multiple dentist visits, and now this, plus court this week. It's probably stress. Course we couldn't go get him, we weren't scheduled to pick him up until Sunday morning. So all we could do was spend all day worrying about him.

To take our minds of things, before BB went to work, we went to the Humane Society to visit the puppies. You have to understand when I say "puppy" I mean everything from the tiniest newborn terrier to the 12 year old Doberman in the bite cage. This visit was a Bad Idea. I completely fell in love with one of the little girls, a year old Australian Shepherd who just looked at me and told me I was her human and what had taken me so long? We tore ourselves away, but I went back yesterday to visit, and the woman there said someone else had come in interested in her. So today I'm leaving work early to be there when they open at noon (I was leaving at one anyway, to meet BB before he leaves for work and take care of YB, so it's not really slacking off, and besides the Boss is in San Francisco) and taking her home before someone else takes off with my puppy. Stupid, stupid, stupid. We're still in the apartment and won't be in the house until late July, at the soonest. Money's tight. We have two cats. We have a kid with chicken pox. We are going to court this week to determine if we get to keep said kid or if he's going to be ripped away from us. And I'm going to bring home a dog. Stupid stupid stupid.

8:35 a.m. - 2001-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: