caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

take your blannket, take your gun, report to General Washington

Sometimes I wonder about the future of humanity. I had the radio on this morning in the car, and the djs decided to do a poll to see how many people knew who the U.S. fought in the American Revolution. Several people actually knew it was England, but a large percentage apparently believe it was the North and the South, or that the colonists were fighting either Canada or the Indians. Come on. If you don't remember your history, doesn't anyone at least remember Schoolhouse Rock, "No More Kings" and "The Shot Heard Round the World?" Sad. The really scary thing was, one DJ wanted to ask what the opening line of the Declaration of Independence is, and they decided that was TOO HARD. I admit it took me a minute to dredge "When in the course of human events..." out of my brain, but it was in there. I know people are stupid, in general, but how ridiculous.


Well, Grandma and Bubbles survived yesterday, so as long as they make it through the next 12 hours or so they should be ok. I went by for a few minutes yesterday and Bubbles was taking a nap, but Grandma was up and around, "cleaning," which involves draggin all the crap out into the middle of the floor, or piling it on the table, and then leaving it there until someone else comes along and cleans it up. This is her standard operating procedure whenever Auntie is out of town, because she complains that Auntie is always throwing out stuff that she wants to keep, or hiding stuff from her. So the minute she has the house to herself, she has to get all her crap out where she can see it, I guess. There's a major component of senility going on there, I think, but no one seems to want to acknowledge that it's a problem. She still won't go to the doctor, either.


YB gets back day after tomorrow. BB has talked to him twice, but both during the day so I haven't talked to him at all. I can't call the Dementors as I don't want to set of D#1, so I'll just have to wait 'til he gets back. It's been a nice break, having some time to myself, but it's too quiet now. I have gotten his quilt mostly done; I was over at Mom's last night starting the actual quilting, which is way hard. The worst part is manipulating this huge amount of fabric around and constantly having to turn it, while trying to keep the presser foot and needle in approximately the same place. It made my shoulders and back ache like the devil. I think I will be able to get it done by the weekend. I hope YB does appreciate it at least a little. He's fascinated by the process of sewing and quilting, so I think he wil.


What else? Not much, really. I'm very tired again, and am really looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow. Auntie and SmartKid are in London now, at the start of their big trip. I'm really envious; how awesome for SK to have this opportunity at 12, and how great that he is intelligent and mature enough to appreciate it. And Auntie is the greatest grandma to do this for him. I wish my grandparents had been as involved with us as she is with her grandkids. Mom's disability case was finally settled with Social Security and she got her check on Friday, after months and months of waiting for it and 7 years before that waiting to be officially declared disabled. It's really funny; she's putting a lot of the money it up but also took some of it and went on a shopping spree. She bought clothes at Talbots and Hudsons, and a hammock, bench for the porch, and a chipper/shredder at Loews. And some really nice comfy shoes, and a couple of nice shirts for Dad. That's her idea of a spree. And she and Dad are going on a cruise in the fall, which they totally deserve; they haven't been on a real vacation since they went to Hawaii and that was something like 8 years ago. And they're helping us out with the down payment on our house. I love my parents. They have their problems -- who doesn't -- but they are really awesome people. Especially when I look at other people's parents, like EngineerBoy's psychotic family, or ControlFreak's incredibly stiff mom and dad. BB's parents are pretty good, but his dad is such a sexist, and his mom won't stand up for herself, which I know is how they grew up but it drives me nuts. My mom was very similar for a long time, letting my dad dictate to her, but she finally stood up for herself and they are both much happier. I wish MIL would take some lessons from her.


I've rambled on enough for one morning, and should get to work. You know, I've got important materials to catalog from that war we fought with Canada for our independence.

7:43 a.m. - 2001-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: