caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no muffin for me

Gah. Little things. It's supposed to be over 100 degrees F today. This is MICHIGAN, people. We don't get that hot. The heat index will apparently be hovering somewhere around 115. People are going to die. Someone died the other day, of hyperthermia, because he was sitting in his car with the windows rolled up. The bizarre thing is, he was in his driveway, and they don't know why he was just sitting there -- if it was a bizarre suicide, or what.

And the other thing about summer in Michigan, how construction just randomly pops up all over the place. The road I take to work was fine yesterday, and this morning it was backed up and littered with orange and white barrels. For no apparent reason.

And, I just wanted to stop at Tim Horton's and get a muffin on my way to work. There's one like 2 minutes from here, and it's right on my way. So I stop, and go in because the drivethrough is backed up, but there's like 8 people in line ahead of me and one guy moving in slow motion behind the counter. I waited for a few minutes, but I was already running late because of the stupid construction, so I gave up. So I'm hungry on top of everything else. I was really wanting one of TH's really good fresh orange muffins.

Bleah. Crabby crabby crabby.

I'm a dork, by the way. You may remember how yesterday I was going on and on about Good in Bed and what a wonderful book it is. So I find the author's website and there's a link to email her, so I do. I don't usually write fan letters, but I have occasionally emailed an author when I'm really bowled over by something they've written. And I just wanted to express to her how much her book touched me. But of course, because I'm a dork, I end up writing this goofy gushing note where I sound like I can't even compose a decent English sentence -- you'd never believe I have a Master's degree in English -- and it's full of run-ons and irrelevant details like how I was really sorry because I couldn't afford to buy her book and had to get it from the library. Like she cares, like me not buying that one book is going to break her or something. And I told her how I was plugging her on my websites and gave her the links and everything, again like she would care. And I actually got a response; the nicest, most sensible letter where she thanked me for the plugs and said not to worry about not buying the book. Doh! I feel like an idjit. But how cool, that she took the time to answer such a goofy letter.

I have Cheez-Its in my bag. I think that will have to be my breakfast. I'm sure there's something in the snack machine I could go get but since last time I tried to get something out of there it took my money and kept my fritos, I don't think I'll risk it. I have &2.25 in change on my to last until I get paid tomorrow, so I needs must hoard my quarters. Can't gamble on an unpredictable snack machine that may or may not give me my ho-hos.

(Not that I would get ho-hos. I think they're disgusting. But it seemed like an appropriate foodstuff to get from a snack machine.)

There's a possibility, albeit remote, that the database may actually be up today so that we can work on replacing and correcting all the records. I'm not holding my breath, however.

8:05 a.m. - 2001-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: