caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

moving right along

Because we had a rampage of packing last night due to the movers coming this morning, there was no food in the house this morning. I stopped for breakfast at the Stop-n-Rob on the corner, because I knew I'd have to wait in a huge long line if I were to go to Tim Hortons. I purchased the following, for breakfast and for lunch: a bottle of Mountain Dew, a lemon Hostess Fruit Pie (which has a truly horrific number of calories), and a small bag of Cool Ranch Doritos.

I am the junk food queen. I gaze in wonder at N's journal, where she details her adherence to her point system. I have no willpower. I've gained weight this year, and I'd like to lose it, and I'd like to eat more healthily so that I am more healthy, but I'm just too tired.

Maybe when we have a real kitchen, where we'll have room to use some of the nifty wedding-present appliances that have mostly been in storage for a year and a half, I'll be more inspired to cook, and less dependent on processed and prepackaged food. We'll see. I'm not making any promises.

So we're moving today, but Michcon can't come install a gas meter until Friday morning, which means we won't have any hot water or stove or washer & dryer until then. Heh. This should be fun. And we also won't have a phone; we have phone service turned on, but didn't really feel like paying the phone company $150 to install the first phone jack and 50 bucks for each phone jack thereafter. My dad said he would do it, since he did it in the house my parents live in now, which he built with only minimal help. Unfortunately, he ended up having to work 12 hour days this week at the Major Automobile Manufacturer who can't be bothered to hire enough people to staff the plants and in fact plans to lay off more supervisors so that Dad can work even longer days. So he won't get a chance to do the phone jacks until next week. We have a cell phone, but I use it so rarely that I never remember the phone number. It's looking better and better that I'm going to be in Canada this weekend. Poor Queen V, though. She comes in tomorrow night and can't even get a hot shower.

And I won't be online for the next several days, since I won't be at work again, after today, until next Wednesday, and obviously can't dial in from the computer at home unless I want to hook it up outside. Which I don't. So this is it for now, folks; next time I write will be post-Queen's visit, post-Move, and post-Canada.

8:32 a.m. - 2001-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: