caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

insanity

Insanity. Absolute, utter insanity. I've gotten news only in dribs and drabs, off the Internet, people coming into work, and Mom called. While I was on the phone with her she saw one of the towers collapse. Plane crashes and bombs in Washington, but nothing confirmed. Someone sent an email into the Sublist, where we've been exchanging shock and horror, that there was a bomb in Lafayette Park, and she was evacuted from her office several blocks from the Capitol. It's like War of the Worlds, only it's real -- that was someone else's comparison, and it strikes me as all too true. How could this be happening? Have we become that arrogant, that sure of our place as the king of nations, that we thought no one would dare?

The one thing my mind keep circling back to -- war. Which was unthinkable only two hours ago. I feel numb.

And what a time to have a yokel in charge. God help us.

10:51 am:
I'm taking mechiaeh's suggestion and using this like a blog. I have to relieve this shock somehow.

I just heard someone in the hallway say they'd heard another plane crashed in Pittsburgh. Damn this stupid computer connection. I want a radio, a tv, something.

11 am
I think I may have to go home. I have the laptop and work I can get done there, and I just feel like I need to be there. I can feel the encroaching panic, and I think I'd function better at home. At this point, I don't care what anyone else thinks about it.

11:47 am
Talked to my dad on the phone a few minutes ago. He said the film on tv looks like pictures he's seen of Pearl Harbor.

I'm going home at noon, as I just need to talk to Blue and the phone won't wake him up. He sleeps deep, even during the day, and working midnights he needs it. But I need him to be awake today.

10:36 a.m. - 2001-09-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: