caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

odds and ends

I would have written yesterday, but really there was nothing to say I didn't say the day before. I'm sick, I'm working too hard, I feel like crap.

Natalie's coming to Detroit. Yay. We won't have much time to visit, but it will be cool anyway.

I finished piecing my fall quilt hanging last night. Now it remains to be seen if I can get it quilted before the housewarming Sunday. Never mind all the other things we need to do before Sunday: clean up our bedroom, get the rest of the books on the shelves, paint the front door, finish hanging pictures, finish YMB's Halloween costume.

Don't you hate it when you are eating grapes and not paying attention and you accidentally eat an overripe one that's gotten all squishy and gross, and you realize it right as you're putting it in your mouth but by then it's too late? Or is that just me?

What was I talking about? This cold medicine is wreaking havoc with my thought processes. And I have a raging headache.

Saw the reproductive endocrinologist yesterday. Dr. A. is a very reassuring type, but maybe a little too laid back; I get the feeling he thinks we are rushing into things. Which is so odd, because my other doctors are telling me that if we want to have a baby we have to do it like right now, and Dr. A. is saying that we could wait if we wanted to, and not to push it. I don't want to wait, of course, but with what he told us yesterday and all the information we have to read up on, I think we will take a break from actively trying for a couple of months. Not that I mean we're going to stop having sex, duh, but I'm going to go on the pill so that my system can, as Blue put it, "reboot." Then in January, I'll probably start on Pergonal, which is a super-duper fertility drug. We have one more thing we can try before going to in-vitro, which is the Pergonal for up to three cycles, combined with artificial insemination. Dr. A. seems to think we might have better luck that way, as they separate out the fastest and strongest of Blue's little guys when they do that, and introduce them directly into the uterus, timing it for right after I should be ovulating. This is far less invasive, and much less expensive, than IVF, so I think it's probably worth a try. But if there's no pregnancy after three cycles, than Dr. A. says they usually recommend going on to IVF. He seems pretty positive that we'll be able to get pregnant, eventually. I wish I felt as positive.

Pierced Girl here at work has taken to coming into my cube and chatting in the mornings. I don't mind as much as I used to; she's really very nice and she's growing on me, even if she is extremely chatty. But I happened to mention something about my upcoming doctor's appointment, and now she's all interested in my fertility. She was just in here asking me how the appointment went. It's not that I mind talking about it, but I don't really want to go into a lot of detail at work. These cubes are hardly private.

As I was coming into work this morning, I passed a guy I often see out in the parking lot smoking. He'd said something to me yesterday about finally finding a spot -- I'd circled twice and had to park at the curb, as parking spots here are like lifeboats on the Titanic -- and I just did my nod and smile. So this morning, he stops me and asks where I got the Powerpuff Girls window cling on my back window, because he has seven year old twin girls who love PPG. It's just a regualr old window cling, so I tell him I got a whole sheet of them at Target. So then he tells me that he was looking at it yesterday, and is quick to say that he wasn't trying to check out my car or anything, but he also noticed I was listening to Doomsday Book, as the Recorded Books case was in my front seat. He asks me how I like it, and I tell him I think it's an incredible book, and he says Connie Willis is one of his favorite authors, and I say yes, me too, I just read Passage and it's fantastic, and we have a little conversation about how great she is, and he says if I want to borrow any books he's just over in Publisher Relations. So I go in thinking, cool, you really don't meet that many people who know who appreciate Connie Willis, and after I get to my desk I realize, really, how weird the whole conversation was. I mean, this guy goes over to look at my PPG window cling? That's a little odd, don't you think? It's not like window clings are some amazing new invention he's never seen before. I would have thought he was hitting on me, and the window cling was a lame excuse, except 1) I look like shit in the mornings and 2) he mentioned the twins, which I wouldn't think you'd bring up in the first sentence if you're hitting on someone. He was too far away for me to notice if he had on a wedding ring or not -- people who go out to smoke have to stand a certain distance away from the building, and so he was in the parking lot and I was on the sidewalk. Anyway, I'm probably way overanalysing this. But I just think it was weird, that he was looking in my car. Am I just paranoid, or is this freaky?

Hmm. I probably should try to get some work done now.

9:53 a.m. - 2001-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: