caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

miscellany

Finally saw the rheumatologist this morning, although I nearly missed the appointment because I thought it was at 9:30 and it was actually at 8:30. When I got out the paperwork this morning at 8:20, I discovered this. Fortunately the doctor agreed to still see me. She took about 5 minutes to confirm the diagnosis of fibromyalgia, by means of pushing on various places on my body and nodding when I yelped, manipulating my joints into various unpleasant positions, and pulling on my extremities, but she then spent about 20 minutes explaining different treatment options I have and medications and things. She wants me to get a work-up at the physical medicine clinic to determine the appropriate kind of physical therapy, as she thinks another major problem I have is a loosening of the joints, which can cause overexertion to happen easily. So I have to be careful with physical activity. It's somehow comforting just to know there are things I can do to help, even if they'll take a while to kick in.

I really don't have much to write about. Things have been pretty quiet lately, for a change. We're trying some new disciplinary things with YMB, on the recommendation of his counselor, and so far they seem to be working. Not to say we aren't still having problems, but he seems to be understanding a litte better when we Really Mean It, and at least trying to pay closer attention when we talk to him. He goes to the Dementors this weekend, so we'll have a few quiet days, which I need at this point. I hate that he goes there, but I also relish a couple of days of peace and quiet and the opportunity to get things done. I won't actually get much done this weekend, since Minnie's shower is Sunday and I'll probably spend Saturday getting ready for that, but at least I can do the shopping and stuff by myself. I need to get her shower gift, still, and on top of that her birthday was yesterday and we doing the family dinner thing on Saturday night, so I need to figure out something for her birthday too. I want to get her something totally non-wedding related. I got married in March last year, and my birthday was in February, by which time I was entirely sick of wedding preparations. And almost everything I got was wedding related or stuff off our registry. Which was nice, but I would have like something just for me. So I have to think about that today.

And I have to do a Target run to fill prescriptions, drop off film, buy a new toothbrush, things like that. Really nothing exciting, which is nice for a change. And perhaps Blue and I will not be too tired to spend some quality time together this evening. That would be nice.

10:54 a.m. - 2001-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: