caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sports, showers, and exploding pop

I have to remember to get up in a few minutes and go get my Mountain Dew out of the freezer. I foolishly didn't put any in the fridge last night, so when I was leaving for work this morning I had no cold pop. I hate that. But I also hate it when you put a pop in the freezer to get it cold quickly and then forget, so that it explodes. And since it's the work freezer, that would be less than appreciated. I don't want to be responsible for Dew sludge all over everyone's Lean Cusines.

What a weekend it has been. Once again I had pretty much absolutely no time to get anything done that I wanted to. Still have not gotten the front door painted or any more work done on Dad's quilt. I did get a little stitching time in, Friday night and last night. Other than that my weekend was taken up with Minnie's bridal shower/birthday extravaganza. Friday night Blue and I went to dinner and then to the mall to get birthday and shower gifts. I was at Mom & Dad's nearly all day Saturday working on the programs and games and stuff, while Mom and Auntie cooked and Kitty flitted about trying to help all of us, working on favors and wrapping presents. Blue worked on his car most of the day, and I got home around 5 pm to find him sacked out in front of the tv watching the U-M/MSU game. I went to take a nap, since Mom & Dad were going to pick us up at 6 for the birthday dinner. I asked Blue to wake me up at quarter to. Next thing I know, it's five minutes to 6 and Blue is jumping in the shower -- he of course had gone to sleep in front of the tv. So we were a little rushed getting ready -- fortunately the 'rents were running late as well -- and I completely forgot Minnie's present, for which we had braved Marshall Field's very late on Friday night.

At dinner were us, Mom & Dad, Auntie, Kitty, Minnie and EngineerBoy, and Minnie's best friend, the Maid of Honor. MoH and Minnie have been friends since like 4th grade, or something, and right after the wedding MoH is moving to Florida, which is going to be really traumatic for Minnie. We went to EG Nicks in Plymouth, which seems like a nice place. It would have been a little quieter except that all the tv screen were tuned to the big game, and there was a mix of U of M and MSU fans in the place. EBoy, a U of M alumnus, was glued to the screen and barely looked up when we all arrived at the table. Our waiter was also entranced by the game, as were most of the people in the restaurant. We shortly witnessed an incredibly crushing loss to MSU in the LAST SECOND of the game -- I thought Blue and EBoy both were going to have strokes -- and were then able to resume normal conversation. (But at least the Dbacks pulled off the World Series. YAY!) Dinner was decent, I had two drinks and had a nice buzz on by the time we went back to Minnie and EBoy's place to start getting stuff together for the shower. The shower was in a barn near their condo, which is owned by the condo association, so it was convenient and we unloaded a bunch of the stuff Saturday night. Rather entertaining for Kitty and I, both of us a little tipsy, to be setting up tables and folding chairs and stuff.

Got home and collapsed Saturday night, and got up early on Sunday. Managed to get the checkbook balanced, and then had to start getting ready, since we had to be there hours early to finish the food and setting up stuff. Blue was being pouty for no apparent reason, and didn't even tell me I looked nice when I left, so I started out in a kind of bad mood. The shower turned out really nice, though. As usual, we had way too much food, most of which I was happy to scam for leftovers. The games were nicely low-key -- no toilet paper brides at our showers -- and I think Minnie had a nice time, which was the most important thing, of course. Cleaned up and got home around seven last night, and sat and stitched and watched the Buffy reruns I taped last week while waiting for Blue to return with YMB from the Dementors. Went to sleep on the couch a bit after 10, when Blue left for work, and woke up and stumbled to bed about three am. As a result, I'm sore and headachy this morning.

But the good news is, I'm getting together with Natalie after work, which I'm really looking forward to. The plan is to meet up in Dearborn, after her Greenfield Village outing, and to return to Ann Arbor for dinner and window shopping. We at least must hit Aunt Agatha's, which is the awesome mystery bookstore in town, and for dinner I was thinking there's this nifty pub on Main Street that's very Irish. They play cool Gaelic music, have a gorgeous bar made special in Ireland, and several of the staff are actually Irish as well. I suppose it's kind of cheesy, but it's much more authentic than most of those places. And they have awesome fish and chips.

I must go check my pop and see if it's cold enough yet, and make sure it hasn't exploded all over the freezer.

10:00 a.m. - 2001-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: