caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

home again home again

So we are back safe and mostly sound from the Toronto overnighter. I'm really sore and have the biggest blister in the world on my pinkie toe, and Blue got really crabby there at the end when we couldn't find the restaurant he wanted to go to for dinner last night and ended up at the Hard Rock Cafe near a table of really obnoxious people who laughed at Blue when he asked them to watch their language since we had a child with us. But other than that, everything went well. We did the obligatory ha-ha-I-have-a-strong-American-dollar shopping, Blue and YMB did the CN tower and the Hockey Hall of Fame (both of which I've done, and have little interest in repeating), I had an interesting evening with List Torontonians (which involved a head injury and much blood, but isn't nearly as dramatic as it sounds), and we saw _Lion King_, which I liked rather more than I expected too, and Blue and YMB thoroughly enjoyed. YMB was excited beyond words at his first trip to a different country, his first time on a subway, his first taxi ride, first time in a really big city, and on and on.

So now it's back to real life, and plunging head first into the holiday season. I made a Target run at lunch and picked up a few things -- the Barenaked Ladies greatest hits CD for Blue, a nifty Lego dinosaur, a puzzle, and some stocking stuffers. The rest of YMB's things have been ordered from Amazon and eToys, which means I should be able to avoid stepping foot in a Toys "we R teaching incorrect letter formation" Us. I just have to come up with something for my sisters, my mom, and Blue's dad, and we're all set. Except for finishing all my projects-in-progress, of course, which would be fine except it looks like I'll be working 10 or 11 hours every day for the next couple of weeks. Blah. Although I'd like to get everything done, I'm just not going to stress about it. You know, I think I've finally realized that things only get busy and stressful and overcommercialized if I let them, and I'm not going to this year. I love Christmas, and I won't let anyone else's expectations spoil it for me.

Google hit to make you go hmmmmm: women+eyepatch+pictures. Now there's a bizarre fetish.

Oh, and happy happy -- Minnie made me a CD with the songs from the Buffy musical on it, apparently gleaned from one of those illegally-uploaded freebie MP3 sites, and gave it to me on Thanksgiving. We listened to it entirely too many times on the drive back last night, and I'm listening to it again right now. Buffy's voice is growing on me, and I'm more in love with Giles than ever (sob! how could he leave?), but I still find Tara annoying. She's all, oh, listen to me, I have the big romantic number and a show-offy voice. Grrr. Although the rather blatent oral sex references are vastly entertaining.

Ok, I'm better now. Jesus Pete, I need a life.

2:11 p.m. - 2001-11-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: