caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i can too bake!

I made cookies last night. Delicious Christmas cookies. And divinity, which is no easy task, what with having to get the corn syrup mixture to the exact right temperature, and then beating the whole thing for the exact right amount of time. Stop too soon, and you get sugary glue. Too late, and it's too hard to form peaks. So there, She-Who-Was-Phelps.

All right, I had help. My cousin T (the insane Mormon, mother to Bubbles and the Diva) came over with the girls. But they were all very well behaved, even though YMB and the Diva fought about whose turn it was with the star cookie cutter, and a good time was had by all. And I have cookies.

I also have a mega-headache. I don't know if this is a holdover from yesterday, or a brand spanking new one, but I'm really tired of my head hurting.

I'm always surprised when people have never heard of divinity. It's one of those things we always had at Christmas. But, too, I think it's a Southern thing. It's really just THE BEST stuff. I feel sad for those who have never had it. It makes my teeth hurt just thinking about it. Oooh.

Gah. I have much to do, and little to write about. Expect sporadic updates until after the wedding/Christmas extravaganza.

9:48 a.m. - 2001-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: