caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how could i forget the bucket?

I forgot to mention, yesterday, one of my very favorite Christmas gifts, which arrived in the mail last Thursday. She-Who-Was sent me a bucket, as she has been promising to do for a while now. It is my very own Catch-a-break bucket, and it came complete with lucky charms. Not the cereal, but a little horseshoe and a tiny angel. I'm determined that it will indeed help next year to be less disaster-ridden than this year. I called SWW Thursday night to say thanks, but she was out, so instead I told her dear hubby to tell her I said thanks for the bucket. He cracked up, and asked me if I'd done any more painting lately. Emphatic no to that one. No more painting until I lose the feeling that I'm living in a sitcom. But hey, at least my life provides vicarious entertainment for countless numbers of friends-and-relations of friends-and-relations.

Natalieeeeeeeeee sent delicious shortbread, which I stupidly took for some kind of mix when I opened the bag and saw the top layer all crumbled into tiny bits. I think my postal person sat on it, as the box was all squished in one corner. But upon further investigation (me:"thank you for the bread mix." N: "huh?") the bottom layers proved to be nearly intact and very delicious.

Yesterday I went to lunch at the highly recommended Arbor Brewing Co. with another of the 'hoods, our Noms Mistress for the List, and her SO. We had a fine old time gossiping about listmembers, discussing how people who are foster parents for bunnies are NOT Crazy Rabbit Ladies, judging the relative merits of the various beers (the tripel was apparently like drinking candy, according to Mr. Crazy Rabbit Lady, although I didn't try it), talking about my graduate thesis and how high school English classes try their best to destroy any interest in literature a child might have had, and eating fish with very garlicky chips. We then carried on the A2 modquadfest tradition of adjourning to Aunt Agatha's for post-fish & chips book shopping. I acquired a really nice used copy, in trade paper, of Unicorn's Blood, by Patricia Finney, and CRL pressed upon me a Charles Todd book, Wings of Fire. I'd been holding out for the first in the series, but this is the second one, so I gave in. I keep hearing how good these are, and I haven't been able to find the first anywhere -- although the nice man at Aunt Agatha's is going to keep an eye out for me.

Speaking of the nice man at Aunt Agatha's, he remembered me from when I was in with Natalieeeeee (no wonder, since we made quite a spectacle of ourselves) and was very pleased at my extreme pleasure that he had another Sayers keychain. Since it is the Official Keychain of the Modquad, and he had only had three on our previous visit, the Not Crazy Rabbit Lady had been lacking one -- until yesterday. I made a great show of officialy presenting it to her, much to the amusement of the Aunt Agatha man.

Then I went home and found Blue much recovered, after a day of mostly sleeping, from both his nasty cold and his three days of working midnights with very little sleep. He'd vacuumed the entire house (beautiful man!) and wanted to go see "Lord of the Rings," which we did. It was long -- nearly three hours -- but, I thought, very well done. It's been too long since I read the books for me to compare-and-contrast (there's that evil high school English again), but I enjoyed it. And best of all, it made Blue want to read the series, which he's never done. Since I'm on a never-ending quest to get Blue to read, that's a great thing. He never read for fun when he was young, was never read to, and hadn't read a novel since high school English (there we go again) when we started dating. Since then, I think he's started reading mostly out of self-defense. He's never going to be voracious about it, but he's beginning to understand the allure, and it helps him understand me a little, I think. And as I pointed out when YMB came to live with us, how can we make YMB read if he never sees his dad reading?

And, finally, one more thing. Keep your fingers crossed for me, folks -- in two hours I go to the doctor for an ultrasound, to see if I'm a candidate for IUI. If I am, we'll start the injections sometime soon, followed thereafter by artificial insemination and, one hopes, pregnancy. I haven't decided yet whether to chronicle that process here, or write about it somewhere else and add it in after I know the outcome. We're not telling my family when/if we schedule the IUI, as it will be difficult enought to deal with the necessary two weeks of waiting to see if it worked, without my entire family waiting and wondering too. I'd rather have it be a wonderful surprise when I am able to tell them that we're pregnant. So, if I'm not telling them, it hardly seem fair to put it all down here. But I have to write about it. We'll see.

Wish us luck.

9:57 a.m. - 2001-12-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: