caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yet another monday. they just keep coming.

Blah. Not much of a weekend. I was hit with a really bad day Saturday, one of those days where I could barely muster the energy to get out of bed. Spent the day gravitating between said bed and couch, had microwave popcorn for lunch, and read straight through two books (reread Bellwether, by Connie Willis, and dug into the TBR pile for Diana Wynne Jones�s Hexwood). My cough just won�t go away, and I felt like some energy-sucking vampire had drained all the vitality from my body. Blue was away at his weekend class, and poor YMB was stuck with me, but he was good about it. He played over at GirlNextDoor�s house for quite a while, played outside since it was finally somewhat above freezing, and asked only for a grilled cheese for lunch.

I didn�t hear anything about Columbia until after lunch time, as I hadn�t turned on the tv or radio until then; YMB and I watched for a few minutes, long enough to see what happened and catch the tail end of our Not-So-Fearless Leader�s speech, and then turned it off. Every time I see Dubya�s smarmy face I want to slap him. And while I appreciated some of the words he said, he seems incapable of saying anything in a non-smirky way. Ugh.

Went to church yesterday, lunch with Gramma, Auntie P, and another of my great-aunts, and then did a little bit of shopping. YMB needed new shoes and long-sleeved shirts, and we found both at Mervyn�s, fairly reasonably priced. Came home after that and pretty well collapsed again. YMB was incredibly well-behaved yesterday, except for briefly pouting when I wouldn�t let him play Gameboy at the table in the restaurant. Considering he was hanging out with a bunch of women most of the day, and had to go clothes-shopping, he did quite well. Until he had a lovers� spat with GirlNextDoor last night, but I�m pretty sure it will blow over.

He�s really doing well right now, except for some occasional pre-adolescent moodiness. We got the mid-year report card last week, and he�d brought nearly every grade up. A�s in reading, language, spelling, and math, and B+�s in social studies and science. Definitely an improvement from the beginning of the year, and his most recent reading tests indicate that he�s reading at a 5th grade level, which is the first time ever he�s been above his own grade level. Considering two years ago he was reading at a first grade level, it�s an unbelievable improvement. There are still behavior problems, but they seem to stem now more from distraction and show-offiness, rather than emotional instability; he talks too much, he plays with stuff in his desk, he forgets to raise his hand. No angry outbursts or beating his head into paper-towel dispensers this year. Right now he�s excitedly looking forward to the Valentine�s Day extravaganza at school the night of the 14th; they have a school-wide dance, silent auction, and bake sale thingy. Although he�s just going to �hang out� � he�s NOT going to dance. Heh.

I put myself forward for prayer yesterday at church. Nothing else has helped me feel better, and it can�t hurt. Not sure what I believe about prayer, but I�m willing to try anything at this point. I can�t keep feeling this tired and depressed. Blah

9:30 a.m. - February 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: