caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another auld lang syne...

...and here I sit all alone, drinking my $3.79 wine out of one of our one good pair of crystal flutes, writing in my journal and watching Dick Clark.

What we call the beginning is often the end
And to make an end is to make a beginning.
The end is where we start from.

Actually, I'm nowhere near as pathetic as that opening paragraph sounds. We had quite a crowd here until about 15 minutes ago, even if it was a rather kid-oriented group. Blue and I picked up YMB this evening after his week with the Dementors, and my mom and dad, auntie, and T & S with the Diva and Bubbles came over. We played Junior Pictionary and Disney Charades and drank sparkling grape juice out of plastic cups. Blue is working tonight, and had to leave at 10:30, but managed to call at midnight on the dot. And reminded me that it was five years ago tonight that we met.

Ring out wild bells, to the wild sky
The flying cloud, the frosty light
The year is dying in the night
Ring out, wild bells, and let him die.

This has been a year of major ups and downs, for us as well as for the world at large. I started this year at the lowest point I have perhaps ever been. Last January was the hardest month I've ever been through, we discovered the extent of my fertility problems was much worse then we'd ever thought, Blue lost his job in August (but found a much better one by September). YMB came to live with us, I got a great job, we acquired our Sophie-puppy (or she acquired us, more accurately), we bought our house. I strengthened old friendships and made wonderful new friends. Blue and I experienced our lowest point yet in our relationship, and yet have managed to make it through to now, probably the strongest we've ever been together. We had our usual complement of bizarrity -- the Charlotte the Red incident and Blue's hair barbecue just being the highlights. Things have balanced out pretty well, all in all, and I don't think we can ask for more than that. There have been better years, and there have been years far worse.

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.

I can only hope that 2002 brings us joy, and that your new year brings more laughter than tears.

And there's a hand my trusty fiere,
And gie's a hand o thine,
And we'll tak a right guid-willie waught,
For auld lang syne.

1:11 a.m. - 2002-01-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: