caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when house cats attack

I had a pretty decent weekend, until my cat tried to rip my face off yesterday.

Friday: girls' night with Mom, Minnie, and her friend Steph. Blue and EngineerBoy were at the hockey game with Ess, so we got together at Mom's and ate homemade french (not freedom) fries and Minnie's to-die-for chocolate chip cookies, talked American Idol & Buffy, watched "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" and generally laughed until we all thought we were going to pee ourselves. Too fun.

Saturday headed to the mall, again with Mom. It was a gorgeous day, in the 50s, and it was a shame to be indoors, really. We shopped for Kitty's birthday, which is this Thursday, and I hit Lane Bryant again. Love that store. It's really the only place I find clothes I like anymore, and it's also so validating to wear the smallest size the store carries, even if it is a 14/16. I had a coupon, so I got a couple of shirts, a pair of capris, and a lime-green bra, all at half-off. Also went to Waldenbooks, since I had my $5 preferred reader discount I hadn't spent yet, and found they were having their buy-4-paperbacks-get-one-free promotion. So, five paperbacks for around $22 bucks. Whee! I bought the next two books in the Jim Butcher series, and a Terry Pratchett for Blue, and, ok, a Buffy episode guide-thingy, and a trade paperback by Meggin Cabot that looks cute (which Mom gets to read first).

Cracks me up, by the way, when you look up a book on Amazon and one of the recommended products is "clean underwear" from Target. Um, do they sell the other kind?

Went to lunch, went to the library, came home and crashed.

Sunday, went to church again, for the first time in like a month. My great-aunt, the pastor's wife, has had a breast cancer recurrence, and was back at service for the first time in a while. She's looking very frail, but apparently the chemo seems to be doing its job, so there's nothing else to do but hope and pray. She got up and talked about how gratified she was at the outpouring of love and support the family has had, and started crying, so of course like the whole congregation starts crying, and geez. It was a sobfest, but in a good way.

Another gorgeous day yesterday, and when we got home I sat outside on the porch for a long time, until the neighbor started blasting music and drove me inside. I could actually feel the sun warm on my face and arms. The first time you feel that, in the spring, it's such an amazing thing. Totally rejuvenating.

Then Lucie tried to eat my face, which put a damper on things. She got outside when I was sitting outside with Sophie, so I chased after her and sat on the porch petting her for a minute before I went to dump her back inside. She didn't appreciate the attempted dumping, and clawed up right at my eye, just missing my eyeball. I have scratches around my eye socket and down the side of my face and just inside my lip, which hurts like hell. Stupid cat.

Came in and took a nap, after I stopped the bleeding. Got up and had applesauce and potato chips for dinner, and watched "Bring It On" on USA. Which is a surprisngly entertaining movie, mostly due to the fabulous Eliza Dushku . I laughed out loud at some parts. I tried to write a few pages which ended up trashed as utterly boring and useless, chatted with Swoop for a bit and played Bookworm, and made an early night of it. So why I'm so fricking tired today, I really don't know. Aargh.

10:46 a.m. - March 17, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: