caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

who said that cats are like potato chips?


Victims were tied to you, then you were rotated slowly over some body of water. They either confessed, or drowned. Pretty tame, actually... you're fairly forgiving once people can admit they were wrong.

What torture would you be?

Here is perhaps the weirdest google I�ve ever gotten: "women+in+kanga+pants". Unless kanga pants are some new trend I�m not aware off? I don�t know, but I�m #6 on that search. And then we have "bob+costas+mormons". Huh.

I know I�m a bit late for the diaryland show and tell, but I have lots of fine pictures to share today. I�m in a fine mood, having almost slept through the night without having to get up to take pain meds, and then napping on the couch until 1 pm, when the Wings game came on (hockey at 1 pm? How idiotic is that?) Blue is taping it since he had to go to bed, having worked all night. And, I also got out of having to go to the bridal shower for one of the interminable Blue female cousins (there are just so many of them, and I can�t keep them straight nor remember who is related to whom). I�ve been up on my foot way too much these last couple of days, and really needed my day of rest. Although I am bummed because I bought a cute outfit at Lane Bryant to wear, and now I don�t get to wear it. Well, I�m sure I will sometime.

Big news from QueenV; I just got off the phone with her and she has a DATE! Trust me, this is big news. She�s turning 30 this year and hasn�t had a date since sometime last fall. Definitely time to end her dry spell, so I�m keeping fingers crossed for her.

Yesterday Blue and I went to see Spider-Man in the early afternoon. It was really pretty good; exciting, and extremely well done with the special effects and all. And I�m in love with Tobey whats-his-name that plays Spiderman. That outfit it TIGHT, in all the right ways. Maybe even a teensy bit in love with Kirsten Dunst, because she�s just such a cutie pie with those dimples and all, and not at all Hollywoodish, just very natural and adorable.

Then we went to my psychiatrist appointment, where he is very impressed with my progress (aside from broken foot, of course) and thinks I am responding well to the meds and stuff. Considering I haven't had a mafor panic attack since Wednesday, and I had a REALLY good excuse that day, I'm pretty happy with that.

Then we went to the Humane Society, which we always do after my doctor�s appointments out there. I was enamored of a poor pathetic black and white puppy, who had the sad look down to perfection, but as Blue very sensibly pointed out, we really can�t deal with another dog right now, especially one who would still have to be housebroken. Went to look at the kitties, and the little grey fuzzball I�d been admiring was gone; not surprising she was adopted, she was such a cutie. Most of the other cats were unappealing, on medication or else really not looking happy to see you. So we were on our way out, and stopped to play with the cats they have in their "condo" out front � these are the kitties that have been there the longest, and they try to really push them because of that. The one on the top crate, Lulu, has been there every time we�ve gone for months; the woman at the desk said she�d been there since January because she was deaf. Whup-de-do, I thought, it�s not like cats come when you call them anyway! But she was very playful, when we rolled her ball at her, she actually caught it and rolled it back. And a cutie-pie too; tiger-striped, like our old cat-who-jumped-off-the-balcony Indy was, but with funky orange chunks, like she�d been to the hair dresser to get her hair punked out. So we took her out and played with her, and of course ended up bringing her home. It was funny; as we were getting her ready to go, the woman at the desk made an announcement that their "top cat" Lulu was finally getting a family, and all these people came out to say goodbye to her and tell us what a good cat she is and how much they�d miss her. First time I ever felt bad taking an animal from the humane society!

She IS the cutest thing; we�re keeping her separated from the other cats at the moment so they can get used to the idea. Took her and Sophie to bed with me last night and shut the door so Daisy and Charlotte couldn�t get in. Sophie couldn�t care less; she sniffed Lucie (we�ve decided that�s a better name than Lulu, and it�s not like she would know anyway) and shook her head at the kitty, wandered around and sniffed her butt, and then just settled down in her bed. Lucie had no reaction at all, she sniffed about Sophie a bit, then jumped up on the bed and snuggled down with me like she�d been there all her life.

She�s in the bed sleeping with Blue right now, and the other cats are in here staring at me; they know something�s going on, because they can hear Lucie occasionally yowling from behind the bedroom door, so they keep shooting evil looks at me, like "you brought home ANOTHER ONE, didn�t you, Mom? How could you DO that?"

I decorated my cast with stickers this morning. I was bored.

And so now we have pictures. This entry became longer than I expected, so the pictures will be in the entry immediately following.

4:08 p.m. - May 04, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: