caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cleanliness is next to...

So, I've had to lock some entries (yay for Andrew, for getting that set up right when I needed it) for reasons that probably are obvious if you're a regular reader. If you want the password, I probably know you well enough that I've already emailed it to you, and if I left you out, apologies and email me, and I will give it to you. If I sent it to you and you don't want, well, deal. Although I may end up just taking those entries down, I hate to do that unless I really feel I have to. We'll see. Better safe than sorry.

In one of those it-could-only-happen-to-me moments, just minutes ago I shorted out my keyboard and my speakers. And no, it wasn't because I spilled Mountain Dew on them. I got up to wake up Blue and pour myself a glass of fine wine product, and when I sat back down at the computer there was this enormous spark that arced between me and the keyboard. Then it was fine for a sec, then my keyboard stopped working. Then the whole thing froze up, and when I ctrl-alt-deleted, there was a scary humming noise. So I turned off the whole thing at the surge protector, waited, unhooked the keyboard and hooked up the new one I got for Christmas, which fortunately was still sitting here in the package and not hooked up yet, turned the thing back on, and all seems fine now except that I have no sound. I was wearing my Powerpuff Girls slipper socks, with the rubber bits on the bottom, so you wouldn't think I'd have built up that much of a charge. It is extremely dry in the house, though. YMB has been getting a kick out of running around in his socks, and then sneaking up and shocking us. To the point where he was threatened with punishment if he did it any more, it was getting so annoying. And he tried it on the cats, too, although I think Miss Charlotte dissauded him from attempting that more than once.

Not much Super Bowl activity here. FIL came over to watch the game with Blue and YMB, and they even gave up by the end of the third quarter and were mostly just watching for the commercials. I couldn't care less about the game, although I thought the Dixie Chicks sounded fabulous on the national anthem and Shania Twain looked rather dominatrix-ish in the vinyl outfit and thigh-high boots. Must admire her ability to walk around in those, however. I would no doubt break something. And really, can't someone make Celine Dion stop singing "God Bless America"? Never mind that she's annoying as hell, she's not even American, for cripe's sake, and that song is so over anyway.

It was a productive day, however. My sewing room is so very organized, as is the kitchen. All the laundry is done, bathrooms are clean, etc. Blue vacuumed and folded clothes. Only the den still needs major work, but since I know already that I overdid it and will be sore tomorrow, I'm putting that off. Again. That's ok, the rest of the house is very pretty, and I just feel more peaceful in my soul that things are not only tidy, but all in their proper places and looking their best. So that's something to be said for my weekend, anyway, since I didn't accomplish anything else.

10:38 p.m. - January 26, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: