caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's not easy being green...

You are Kermit!
Though you're technically the star, you're pretty mellow and don't mind letting others share the spotlight. You are also something of a dreamer.

Note to drivers on my route to work this morning:
That white stuff? Snow. Yes, I know it was 60 yesterday. I know you didn't expect to see five inches of snow when you got up this morning. You live in MICHIGAN. This happens EVERY YEAR. Get over it. And do try to remember from one week to the next how to drive in the snow, please. Then we wouldn't have to keep having this discussion. Thank you.

Sigh. Yes. Record high temperatures yesterday, and a snow advisory today. I love Michigan, I really do. But right now I'd really like to be somewhere else, like the Florida Keys, or the French Riviera.

Anyone know why "The Lady is a Tramp" is currently stuck on replay in my head? Go away, Frank.

Last night, when YMB went to bed and Blue lay down for a nap before work, I actually had the tv to myself and could watch "Angel" in peace. Sadly, this made me recall why I don't normally watch "Angel" �- it's stupid. What the hell is up with that show? I'm sorry, but I don't buy Angel as a dad. And I know he's a vampire and all, but ewww, does he really have to drink his daily blood allowance out of clear glass glasses? At least on Buffy Spike tends to use nice opaque coffee mugs. Although the bit with the little tiny hockey sticks was funny. Hockey, the perfect sport for a vampire's kid: "the games are indoors, and mostly at night." Yeah, I guess soccer would kind of be out of the question.

I've been feeling rather mellow lately, and haven't been much for updating, sorry. Nothing much happened this weekend, and it seemed like a lot of effort to go to the computer just to tell y'all that. We moved the furniture in the living room, and I really like how we have it arranged now; it seems to open it up more into a "great room" kind of thing with the dining area that we don't use for dining. We have the recliners there instead, and a little table and a bookcase, so it's like a little reading nook. Anyway, I like it. Auntie came last night and took the old couch for one of her nieces on her husband's family's side, who just bought a new huge house with a settlement she got from a nasty car accident. So tonight we'll move the daybed into the den, where the couch was, and I'll have room to set up my cutting table and stuff in the spare room. Yay!

Went to dinner Saturday night and ended up at Bill Knapp's, since everywhere else in Ann Arbor is packed all weekend. What is with Ann Arborites, do they never cook? Knapp's has apparently rethought it's whole "let's be all trendy and try to get the young people in" marketing strategy, since it actually turned into the very poor "let's offend our major demographic, senior citizens, so that they never come in and young people still don't come because face it, we'll never be trendy no matter how hard we try" marketing strategy. So they've taken down all the funky weird decorations at all the restaurants, apparently, like the clear plastic shower curtains on the walls and the Barbie dolls affixed to the bathroom doors, and hung up the old nice non-offensive art instead. And the placemat has on it a letter from the president of the company apologizing his ass off and promising "softer background music, more subtle decorations, the return of favorite menu items, and the acceptance of personal checks."

I find it kind of entertaining, but I bet several people got their asses fired over it. Heh.

Wandered around the nearby Borders after dinner and we were good, we didn't actually purchase anything. There really wasn't even anything I was tempted by, which is rather unusual for me.

I worked on piecing my quilt top, and did some stitching, updated my auctions and Amazon inventory, got stuff together to mail out, and that was pretty much it for the weekend. Sunday afternoon I realized I'd actually gotten everything on my mental to-do list done, and so ended up spending the rest of the day reading and loafing and feeling vaguely like I was forgetting something.

Yesterday was Evil Knee Day at PT, and it was worse than usual. Leah made me do the stair stepper, and by the time I got done my ankles were so wobbly I couldn't stand up. Then the icepacks were extra-cold. My knees and ankles were randomly quivering all day.

I made a doctor's appointment to go back and see my regular OB/GYN on the 11th, before we start another IUI round. I want to see if maybe starting treatments for the PCOS, which they've never really done anything for, will help me feel better. I have felt lousy lately, and I think that�s why; I can usually tell the difference between hormone-related ickyness and general feeling-lousyness.

My appointment happens to be on 2nd wedding anniversary. Maybe that's a good omen? Or it could be a bad omen, I guess, I don't know.

Then two days later I have an appointment with my GP, to go over all the various things that are going on. It makes me uncomfortable to be referred out to all these various doctors, who then refer me to other doctors, and so on. I'd like to have one person be sort of up-to-date on all these things. I know in theory the GP is supposed to do this anyway, but I have my doubts, considering it took no less than four calls to her office to get the right referral sent to PT.

I'm doing well with the drinking more water thing, at least; I get at least two big glasses down at work nearly every day. I think it is helping, at least I notice that my skin is definitely less dry and scratchy. And I have to pee a lot, but that's nothing new. But I definitely think I'm getting the caffeine monkey off my back. I can't quite go cold turkey; I still have about half a bottle of pop in the mornings. But since I was up to two or more bottle of pop a day, it's quite an improvement.

Hey, I'll never win a gold medal. I have to revel in my tiny triumphs.

Do you know, Word spell checker doesn't recognize "placemat"? It wants me to replace it with "placenta." That would completely change the meaning of the description of Bill Knapp's, above.

9:43 a.m. - February 26, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: