caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

crouching tiger hidden meaning

It was a fairly successful morning at the booksales, but for some reason Saturday turned into an incredibly blah day. I came home and had no motivation to list my new acquisitions, or really do anything besides lay on the couch and watch tv. Blue had to work a day shift and came home about 4 in a crappy mood himself, so we snipped at each other for a bit and then retired to our separate corners to pout. I napped a little on the couch, and he yelled at the hockey game on PS2 for a while. But we both mellowed after a bit and ended up watching "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon" on one of the satellite movie channels we had on free preview this weekend, which actually was quite entertaining when you ignore the subtitles and made up your own dialogue. I know everyone seems to think that movie is amazing, but I really didn�t get it. The plot made absolutely no sense, even before we stopped reading the subtitles, and I guess I could see how nifty the special effects were, but they just bugged me. I�m all for suspension of disbelief, but every time someone flew over a wall or a treetop, I wanted someone to yell "it�s a bird, it�s a plane�" I don�t know. Just didn�t do much for me, I guess.

Today Kitty came down from TC for her birthday, which is Wednesday. ControlFreak didn�t accompany her, for once, and we had a very nice dinner with the parents and Minnie & EngineerBoy. She is so much more relaxed when she�s not around CF, and I can�t understand why she doesn�t see it. She just got awesome red and blonde streaks put in her hair, which is naturally a dark strawberry-blond, and when I was telling her how great she looked, she said that of course CF doesn�t like them. He hates it when she changes anything. It would drive me nuts. He didn't come down with Kitty because his cat (as opposed to the other two cats, which are her, and whom he hates) is sick, and needs eardrops every few hours. He didn't want to leave her. So Kitty ends up doing an eight-hour round trip drive in 24 hours, by herself, while recovering from mono still, because he couldn't trust someonw to take care of his cat for not even two full days. Grr.

Anyway, we did have a nice time hanging out at my parents. My family really is so cool. Here we all were, Minnie and Kitty and I, all talking and giggling and doing what Blue calls "the voice," where we get all high-pitched and squealy (we were looking at Minnie�s proofs from the wedding, so we had a perfect excuse), and my parents dog Moe and our Sophie and Minnie and EB�s adorable new puppy Faith were running around crazily, and Mom and Dad just sit there sort of benignly, Dad with this bemused look on his face because even after nearly thirty years he still doesn�t get girls, and Mom gets just as giggly as we do, and Blue and EB shake their heads and look superior and talk about football and hockey. It�s just so great and normal.

The new puppy really is just the cutest thing ever. She�s some sort of terrier/sheltie mix, all black with white paws and nose, and cuddly and cute and � well, I would stick in a picture, but I just remembered I left the stupid camera at mom�s. And I took a ton of great picture today, playing around with my new toy. Damn. Good thing they only live like ten minutes away.

Then we had to go pick up YMB from the Dementors�, which was fine, really, it just takes such a huge chunk of time � basically a three hour round trip. And then we did a grocery run � oh joy, Meijering with an 8-year-old � and then we came home, put YMB to bed, Blue went off to work � I wish they would put him on a normal schedule, and not this two days on midnights, two days on days thing � and here I am. And here I am going to bed. Good night.

P.S to the people who have found this site looking for "girls shagging" � it�s not what you think. Sorry.

10:42 p.m. - March 17, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: