caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

finis

Done! Damn Quilt is done and passed off into the hands of the Little Old Quilt Ladies at the guild, and there's nothing more I can do with it. What a relief.

I worked on it until about 1:30 am, with only infrequent breaks, from when I got home at 5:30. I was very snappish with Blue and YMB as they kept trying to talk to me. I must apologize for that tonight, but couldn't deal with the distraction! Went to bed finally, and got up at 5:30 this morning to finish up the last few things � finish sewing the binding to the back, sew on the hanging sleeve, and iron and press and delint the damn thing for the umpteenth time. Blue delinted it last night for me, and he pulled off a furball twice the size of any of our cats. No wonder they're all looking skinny; they've shed their winter coats all over my quilt. So I spent two hours this morning finishing, since I discovered a small section that wasn't quilted, more threads to trim, and a section of binding that had pulled away from the front. Grr. I can't believe I actually finished it; last night I was practically in tears because I was convinced I wasn't going to get it done and I was sooooo close.

Technically it's not Damn Quilt anymore, since the LOQL probably wouldn't approve of that as a title for the show, so I called it Charlotte's Cabins, in honor of all the cat hair and the fabric strips she kept kidnapping while I was piecing it. I took pictures this morning of Blue holding it his above his head, so that it look like a quilt with feet, and I will take pictures at the show tomorrow and post them. I got the quilt in right at deadline ("NO quilts will be accepted after 10 am!") as I'd forgotten that I had to go get gas before I could got more than two miles down the road.

Finally got to work a little after 10, had my first meal of the day (a bagel I stopped for at the grocery store, which made me even later, but I was hungry, damnit), and now I am not going to worry about it any more. I am going to go home tonight, close the door to the room with the sewing machine, and not open that door for at least a week. Unless of course one of the cats manages to sneak in there before I can close the door again, which has happened. Then I might consider it. Maybe.

11:47 a.m. - July 26, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: