caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ugh

This is going to be a whiny entry. It�s been a crummy week in the Blue household, except possibly for the kid. Summer�s over, damnit, for one. My fingers are swollen to the point that I can�t wear my wedding rings, which is also why I haven�t been updating much; typing all day at work is plenty for me. Minnie and I have tried twice to get together to watch her tivo�d episodes of �The O.C.� (shut up) and have had things come up both times. We are trying to get back into the school routine which is really no fun. Do you have your homework? Do you have your lunch? Did you take your medicine? Etc. Ugh. Blue still hasn�t heard about the job he interviewed for two weeks ago, he called them Wednesday only to be told they had to reschedule someone�s interview and they haven�t made a decision yet. And yesterday while Blue was out at his parents working on the VW, his dad decided that would be a good time to tell him that he�s not in love with Blue�s mom anymore. Yeah. Nice. And way to dump your post-midlife crisis on your son, who has plenty of his own problems.

In other news, I went bike-riding with Sophie and the Kid last night, and oy does my butt hurt. Blah.

9:57 a.m. - September 05, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the good the bad and the ucky

Argh. Things are good, then they get sucky. Then they're good for a while, then they suck again. Last week was good. Today, it sucks.

Blue had an interview last week that went well, and was supposed to go back in yesterday for the practical portion --- doing a massage on one of the current therapists. Through a stupid set of circumstances, both his fault and the clinic's, he had to cancel. He's supposed to go in today but when I talked to him this morning wasn't sure because he can't get in touch with the person he's supposed to be dealing with.

Blue graduated on Sunday, so that's good. We still owe tuition and he won't officially get his certification until it's paid off, so that's bad.

A couple of weeks ago my grandma gave us some money, out of the blue, and it was a huge relief. We used it to pay down on tuition, and also paid some outstanding bills; apparently I miscalculated somewhere, or something went through that's been on hold for a while, because I checked our balance this morning and we're negative again, and in imminent danger of bouncing the one remaining check that has yet to clear before Blue gets paid on Friday. Because the rule is, you know, if you'll have money in the account on Friday to cover it, the check will beyond all doubt go through on Thursday, even if they've been holding on to it for weeks and weeks. So, that's bad.

YMB started school yesterday and came home pronouncing his first day "awesome" and his teacher "rockin'." So that's good. Spoke to teacher briefly this morning and the Dementors have already been in touch with her, so that's bad.

Sometimes we just can't win.

12:10 p.m. - August 27, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

free! books!

Keep reading -- there's a free book offer at the end.

Yeah, I've taken to bribing you people. What of it?

Anyway ... Continuing my blackout theme of the idiocy of the Detroit news shows, I must share these gems from Fox Detroit tonight. I don't even have to provide the snark here. First, some cats are missing after an apartment fire. This is very sad, and I share the owners� pain, but seriously, the reporter was walking through the woods where the cats were last seen reporting on it. Then � shocking! � some stores are still selling goods from before the blackout! Ok, duh, people. I�m guessing some convenience store clerks just aren�t going to be all that diligent about it. Check the expiration dates, be wary about your meat, and don�t drink any chunky milk.

But best of all was the grandma who drove off with her video camera bag on top of her car. Seriously. Who does she know that this got her on the news? If anyone finds it, please, she doesn�t care about the camera � which I�m sure is trashed, anyway, if it flew off the top of her car � but the tape inside is the only copy of her grandson�s birth. And, I quote, �he�s only gonna be born once!�

Oy. Detroit. A big city with the heart and mind of rural Arkansas. No offense to Arkansas.


So, I have these books � advance review copies, all � and I�d be happy to send any or all to any of my regular reader-type people for a meager donation of postage costs. I�m piling up the ARCs, and while I�m keeping some, I�ve run out of space, and my public library won�t take donations of proof copies. First come first served.
Jane Lindskold � Dragon of Despair
Judith Marillier � Wolfskin
Jude Fisher � Wild Magic
Emily Drake � The Dragon Guard
J.V. Jones � A Fortress of Grey Ice
J. Ardian Lee � Sword of King James
Marion Zimmer Bradley � Zandru�s Forge (Darkover series)
And two short story collections � Sword and Sorceress 20, and Tales Before Tolkien, a nifty collection of classic fantasy shorts.

Email me at caerulaatdiaryland.com and I�ll happily provide details. I need them off my floor.

11:30 p.m. - August 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: