caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Freaky Friday

You know those days when you just shouldn�t have gotten out of bed? Yeah. I had one of those today.

It starts out all well and good, as our tax refund finally showed up. But then I inadvertently and (mostly) innocently started a big ol� debacle on one of the boards I frequent. And I didn�t even post the comment that started it *on* said board. I posted it on the board of the person in question, who � ok, this is a stupid story, and convoluted, and I don�t feel like going into it. Suffice to say someone tried to make me feel like shit and sent me several nasty, vulgar emails for calling them on some pretty obvious plagiarism, and went back to the original boards she�d plagiarized playing the wronged party. Which people bought, until the whole thing fortunately was deleted by the moderator. Grr.

Then I went to work out after work tonight, to try and shake of lingering icky feelings. Because even if you don�t originally don't care all that much, it�s never nice to be attacked personally for a legitimate criticism, especially when said attack consisted of being asked to do something anatomically impossible and fairly gross. So, anyway, workout went well � go me � and then on the way home I ran into a utility pole. Seriously. Smack dab front-and-center. I was driving through a new neighborhood being built over where I go to Curves, and it�s all construction equipment and wide drives and dirt roads. Went to turn off onto the main road out of the subdivision and I just smacked into the pole like it wasn�t even there. I�m not even sure how I managed it, as I seem to have that 3-second amnesia thing you get when something traumatic happens. The pole is in a weird place � kind of in the middle of a wide turn-off, so you have to steer around it � and I just didn�t. Go around it, that is.

So the front bumper of my car literally broke in half. I started shaking and hyperventilating and pulled off to call Blue, but he was still sleeping. No one came over to see if I was ok or even to tell me I was an idiot, which is how I felt, so I eventually calmed down enough to go home. Came in and woke up Blue with more crying and freaking out, but he went out and said it�s not actually as bad as it looks, as it�s really *just* the bumper � didn�t damage the frame or push up the grill or the hood at all. God bless Saturns. The bumper will have to be replaced, but if he can get the part Blue can do that himself and we won�t even have to turn it in to insurance. We have a fairly high deductible, so it might not even be worth it to turn it in. We�ll see.

But damn it! So much for that income tax refund going into the baby fund. Grr.

11:23 p.m. - April 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: