caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

funny kids, romance novels, librarian humor...

Quote from YMB last night: "I have a way of sounding like I've put a lot of thought into something when really I'm just talking."

I was driving. I nearly had to pull over, I was laughing so hard. He was talking about his plans to be on the Olympic ice hockey team and also be in the Summer Olympics and win all the gold medals for gymnastics. He was explaining at length how he was going to accomplish this, and I made the the comment that he'd obviously thought about this quite a bit. God, I love that kid.

Had to take him to the dentist this morning, as his spacer popped out on one side of his mouth but was still attached on the other. He was hugely relieved to see the last of that thing. Now we just hope that the teeth continue to come in straight, which given his dad's dental history is unlikely. Sigh. At least I did get to sleep in a little this morning, although not as much as I would have liked, and did the dentist dance before coming all the way back to work.

My left arm and wrist are really hurting today, which makes no sense. If anything, it should be my right; spent far too much time this weekend trying (and failing) to conquer the "save the great cats" scenario on Zoo Tycoon. Stupid snow leopards.

Almost finished with my Julia Quinn oeuvre re-read (unfortunately completely out of order, as I don't own them all). Yes, these are romance novels, and yes, I like them a lot. So there. Mostly because the heroes aren't perfect, macho I-can't-be-so-weak-as-to-fall-in-love men. They are willing to admit their faults, and generally realize on their own that they love the heroine before the last page. Areally quite funny books. And I was totally right about who Lady Whistledown was! I was!

Found a very cool co-op librarian journal. And sigh, this is sadly true.

A comic strip about librarians. Perfectly illustrates why I no longer work in a public library. Especially this one.

Another library related link: S.F. gay-book slasher put on probation. The best part: "The vandal's antipathy toward things gay didn't stop at homosexuality. He damaged books by Gay Talese and the historian Peter Gay, and he even defaced a book of poetry by Mark Levine titled "Enola Gay," after the plane that dropped the atomic bomb on Hiroshima."

People are stupid. Sigh.

5:00 p.m. - September 23, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: