caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grinding away

I have only been back to work for one hour, and already my foot is asleep. Not a good sign.

Another bad sign: we have one person out with walking pneumonia, another in the ER with possible diverticulitis, and yet another whose father is in for heart surgery. Which means, ironically, that I am one of the healthiest people in our division, a fact which has already been commented on by Sherman & Co. and found to be a bad omen for the coming year.

Also when I came in this morning, I found that while I was gone my Darren McCarty bobble-head doll had been putting the moves on my Buttercup figurine. I found them in a clinch on top of my computer monitor. Darren has been reprimended (Buttercup, after all, is only six years old), and exiled to the top of the microfilm viewer.

So it was back to the grind this morning. As I hauled YMB out of bed at 7:45 and made yet another PB&J sandwich, I realized that I could so live a life of luxury. You know those people who don't *have* to work, but do because they feel so fulfilled by it? Who say they couldn't stay home because they'd be bored? That is so not me. I could stay home and find a zillion things to do, and never be bored. At least not for a really long time. And even then, I'm sure I could find better things to occupy me than a job. Maybe I'd even finally write my book. Last week was so nice, in spite of waking up ridiculously early nearly every day. Relaxed, laid-back -- it didn't feel at all odd to me to be home napping in the afternoon instead of here at work. I am clearly meant to be a homebody, despite outward appearances. I am really rather jealous of my sister Minnie, the just-married one, whose husband is a fancypants engineer at FoMoCo. She quit her job before the wedding and is taking a few months off to decided what she wants to do. Must be nice to have that option.

Oh well. Sour grapes don't do anything but give you a stomachache.

I've noticed I have a few new readers lately. Don't know what could be drawing people here, between tales of hair combustion and vomiting children, but thanks for reading. Kudos to Kris and Avidproxy for going so far as to sign my guestbook. Thanks! Glad my sitcom life entertains you. Stick around -- you never know what we'll set on fire next!

9:56 a.m. - 2002-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: