caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh, just an everyday grr, with an arrgh thrown in for good measure

Another morning, another banana. I am so sick of fruit. And slim-fast shakes. But, down another two pounds this morning, so I'm reinspired. 168! I'm a little more than a quarter of the way to my goal, in two months. Need to start walking again, if the damn foot will stop hurting. The gardening must be helping, though, and I even resisted the chocolate frosted doughnuts someone brought in this morning.

Okay, so I didn't actually totally resist. But I did only have a half. And I haven't gone back. So yay me.

Game 5 tonight. Of course I am hoping for a Wings win tonight, because of course I want them to win, but also because I want the goddamn hockey season to be over so I can have my husband back. Don't get me wrong, I've become a big hockey fan (ok, a big Wing fan) because of him, but I hate to think what kind of mood he'd be in tonight if we have to go back to Carolina for a game 6. Fortunately, it's not likely. And then it will be over for a few short months, and no more yelling and screaming at the tv for a while, because fortunately, Blue is not a baseball fan.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Oh, will our trauma ever end? Just on the receiving end of a phone call from Blue. Tuesday, we bought a lovely, wonderful, quiet as a mouse stackable washer and dryer with that refund check from the mortgage company. We can deliver on Wednesday! Yay! So Tuesday night we took apart the laundry room, unhooking the cranky, noisy, wander-all-over-the-room older-than-us machines we had. Wednesday morning, sure enough, there they are bright and early. But: hey, they must have banged this putting it into the truck! Look at that big dent on the side!

Oh, well, they said, we can bring a new one out tomorrow, no problem, and we'll take your old ones away.

Anyone who has known me for anything length of time knows that of course, this did not happen today. Blue just got a phone call from the evil appliance store, and that was (say it with me, now) the last one in stock. They might be able to get one out to us next week, but they can't guarantee when it will be delivered.

We are leaving, deadline, 4 pm next Friday for vacation. I'm positive there will be a great need to wash clothes before we leave on vacation. So I told Blue, a) we want reimbursement for our laundry expenses next week (they don't need to know we were already using the laundromat) and b) damnit, we should get a discount for our trouble. Or c) if the big dent (which I did not see) won't affect the actual performance of the machine, give us a decent chunk of our money back, and we'll take the damn thing.

Long time readers may remember that the SAME EXACT THING happened to us when we bought new furniture last year. Hey, look at that rip in the side of your chair! Must have happened when they were loading the truck! Oh, dear, it will be six weeks before we can get you a new one.

You know, I'm starting to think the loading deck people must do this on purpose. When stuff comes back damaged, according to Kitty (who used to work at a furniture store) employees are offered the junk at huge discounts, so the don't have to ship it back to the manufacturer. Figures.

I hope this doesn't set Blue off. He's been in a really decent mood the past few days. Maybe we'll go out to Damon's or some place tonight to watch the game and have dinner; that might cheer him up, and YMB would get a big kick out of it. If we win, of course.

Grr. Arrgh.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Oh, P.S. Something funny, for a change. Just remembered a conversation overheard last night in the Target dressing room (I got a nice lightweight shirt and shorts for traveling).

Mom: Oh, that one's nice. You could wear that to both weddings.
Teenage Daughter: MOM! You just don't want to get me two dresses! And Wedding B is so much fancier than Wedding A!
M: Well, for B I could let you borrow that sparkly scarf I got from Marshall Fields. Or you could get a boa or something to dress it up.
TD: MOM! I HAVE a boa from prom. I can't wear that to Wedding B! And your scarf wouldn't go with this dress!
M: Why couldn't you wear the boa? B is a pretty fancy do, you know.
TD: Mom. For a wedding, sparkly scarf says fancy. Boa says bimbo.
M: You wore it to prom, didn't you?
TD: Yes, but that was PRO-OOOOM. That was DIFFEREEEEENTT. I'd have to have a scarf of or something if I was going to wear this to both weddings.
M: Well, I'm going to Marshall Field's next week to get my dress. Maybe I'll find you a scarf that will work with that dress.
TD, slyly: So either I can get a scarf and wear the same dress, or I can get both of these dresses?
M, sighing: I suppose.

At this point I left the dressing room. Don't know who won; never saw either one of them, or the dresses being discussed, but somehow it seem wrong to be a mom who makes your teenage daughter get her dresses at Target, while you go to MF's. Because, while Target does have nice clothes sometimes, they aren't so big in the formalwear department.

11:39 a.m. - June 13, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: