caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy families are NOT all alike, no matter what some dead Russian guy said.

This is a wonderful thing. Natalieeee informed me this evening that one of my very favorite of all the people who write books, Jennifer Weiner (do NOT laugh at her last name), now has a blog! Actually she's had it since the beginning of the year - I have apparently been remiss in checking her site. So it�s also bad, as it is now 1:50 am and I�ve been reading the archives for well over an hour, as she is so damn entertaining that I can�t stop (she tells Kirkus to bite her, I mean, how great is that?). I really should be sleeping, since tomorrow is a full, full, day. More on that later. But it�s a great thing, too, since as my, what, 16 regular readers know, I�ve needed laughs lately. Huge thank you to Jen Weiner for that. And seriously, folks, if you�ve not read Good in Bed, you simply must. Really. Go out and get it. It�s out in paperback now, even.

I just realized that I actually don�t own a copy of it yet. This situation must be remedied soon, as I�m feeling the need for a reread of a really great, funny book, and it's too soon since my Jenny Crusie rereading binge for her again. (Hmmm...two great, snarky, funny, awesome writers, both sharing my name. More proof for my theory that many Jennifers compensate for so common a name by making themselves noticeable in other ways, and I'll get my turn someday.) But I digress (me, digress?) - I must admit I read it from the library last year, when I was on a book-buying moratorium. And today I had to go buy something sort of dressy to fit me for the damn wedding tomorrow (despite the recent weight loss, I still can't wear my "fancy" dress that I�ve worn to weddings and events for two years) and tomorrow must go purchase dress pants for a 9-year-old, and get my blood drawn for the new med that I think is making me insane, and get prescriptions refilled, and go to wedding for random female cousin of Blue's (he has a zillion) which requires writing a check to stick inside the card, which we then hope they don't cash until after the honeymoon. So I don�t think I�ll be buying new books anytime soon. But I do have that Borders coupon that goes through the end of July, and I do get paid before that, so perhaps I will be able to purchase books again at some point in the next few weeks.

To change topics suddenly and completely, YMB is home. Amazing, how 2.5 weeks of not seeing a child gives you this illusion of them having grown and changed so much! Amazing, too, how when you see him it hits you all over again how much you missed him and you get all teary when he runs to hug you (I was second after the dog, which I don�t think is too bad. It puts me ahead of all of the cats. And damn, Sophie was so happy to see him. She probably thought we�d taken him to the pound or something). And he was so good! Chattered incessantly, of course, told us the movies he�d seen (thank god one of the aunts took him to see the Cr0c Hunter movie, because there�s no chance in a thousand hells that I�d go see it � actually, that�s probably what they play on the hell inflight movie), and what his birthday presents there were, of course, but also asking what we�d done, did we have fun without him, how was Sophie, how were various people, would SmartKid still be his friend even though SK is 13 now(!), and snuggling on the couch with me while we watched cartoon network and Blue got ready for work. (I know, but I still like the Powerpuff Girls. Although I don�t quite grasp what the concept is behind Grim �n Evil, and the one with the two old people and the dog is ucky. But Robot Jones looks to have potential, and how can you not adore Samurai Jack?)

So, caught up on cartoon plots, and life chez Blue, YMB refamiliarized himself with birthday presents from before his sojourn with the Dementors ("Oh! I forgot about this one!"), played with Sophie, incited a pillow fight (dad-approved, so it was okay), sent Blue off to work with a tie-strangling hug, and finally, finally went to bed. At eleven. After he�d checked to make sure all his Zoids were properly lined up. And asked for water. And figured out which Harry Potter book to listen to, since he has all four tapes unabridged now. And arranged the animals, stuffed and real, to his satisfaction. And hugged me. And asked three more questions. And noticed something else he�d forgotten he had. And gave me a kiss. And checked to make sure he could reach the water bottle. And that his night light was on. And one more hug, and an "I missed you" and "I missed you too" and "I bet it was really quiet around here!" and another kiss and, from me "too quiet, you know. I knew something was missing."

So glad he�s back. So hard to let him go, again in two weeks. Not long enough for a summer. But then it will be the end of August, and he�ll be back, and looking taller once again, and wearing glasses and starting fourth grade, and waiting for the new Harry Potter movie to come out, and whining for stuff at Target, and wanting a new backpack and a cool lunchbox, and I�ll just remember, please remember, how it felt when he charged through the door at me today and hugged me and actually said "I missed you" first, for the first time.

Okay, not ending up where I thought I would be with this entry, but that�s okay. It�s 2:18 am, and my son � my son, no matter the woman who gave birth to him, the woman he still calls mom � is asleep in his bed, in our home, with his Sophie-puppy curled contentedly next to him on the bed where she�d lain by herself off and on for nearly three weeks wondering where her boy was. Our boy. Home.

Blue went off to work in a good mood for the first time in days. And I can go to bed feeling happy, deep-down happy (although tired), for the first time in a long, long, time.

2:23 a.m. - July 20, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: