caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

137, and never felt better. and I'm so touched you remembered.

How sad is it that, upon hearing Kitty will be induced on Wednesday and that she wants me to come up to the hospital, one of my first thoughts is that I have to make sure to set the tv to record American Idol?


Apparently my big two workouts last week have caught up with me, as the backs of my thighs are incredibly sore today. I wouldn't think it would be from working out on Friday, but I can't think of anything I did over the weekend that would cause my legs to hurt like this. I'm going to work out again after work, nevertheless, since it�s the last chance I'll have to go until I get back from TC next week. Supposed to go to Mistress Sinister's play tonight, and now I don't know if I'll make it, what with trying to get ready to leave tomorrow. I hate to miss it, since it's being put on literally 10 minutes from my house and I'm dying to meet her, too, so I'm going to try to get it together in time to still go tonight. We'll see, I suppose.


What else? Ah yes. The freakiest thing I saw this weekend.

Yesterday after church I went with mom to the cemetery where her dad is buried, to clean the winter stuff off and but out some spring flowers. This is one of those huge cemeteries where people really go overboard with grave decorations; Easter brings an annual crop of those plastic pink blow-up bunnies and huge crosses and stuff like that. One of the headstones near my grandfather's was sporting a balloon bouquet. I think that's a little creepy in any case, but the really bad part was that this was a birthday bouquet, with 5 or 6 of those giant mylar balloons decorated with confetti and printed with "Happy Birthday." Even that I could have dealt with, except that the wind caught one of the balloons and turned it so I could see the bright red writing, which read "You're HOW old?"

I kid you not. I though I was going to choke from laughing so hard. I elbowed mom, who was clearing away dead branches, and made her look. So both of us are standing on my grandfather's grave, trying like mad not to giggle too loudly in case the old man with the basset hound near us thought we were being inappropriate. By the time we got back to the car we just collapsed from laughter. My mom says "you know, I think some of these people don't quite grasp the concept of, you know, death. In that you don't actually get older afterwards."

Bwah. I love that we don't take things too seriously in my family. Because if I hadn't been able to laugh at that my head probably would have exploded.

12:00 p.m. - April 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: