caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

insert clever title here

Finished The Eyre Affair a couple of days ago and have been goofing off at work perusing the awesome website, Thursdaynext.com. What an entertaining and clever book! I love it when an author � in this case Jasper Fforde - can stuff a book with in jokes and sly pop culture and literary references, and manage not to be precious about it. I wonder if he's any relation to Katie Fforde, who writes really nifty comic romances.

One of the absolute best scenes in the book was the bit where they go to a performance of Richard III that is entirely done by the audience, rather like a production of "Rocky Horror" with players picked out of the costumed crowd. I was laughing my butt off. And how can you not love a book where a particularly nasty character is named Jack Schitt?

On an entirely unrelated note, my sister Kitty has mono, poor thing. I talked to her last weekend and she sounded like she had a nasty cold; according to Mom she ended up going to urgent care night before last because she was feeling so completely terrible and her neck was swollen up like a football player's. Mom said she sounds terrible. And she's stuck up in TC with no one to take care of her but the ControlFreak, who is just not terribly sympathetic. Because of course when you're that sick you just want your mommy, and CF doesn't buy into that at all. Poor Kitty. I need to figure out some kind of care package I can send her, at the very least.

I found Blue's anniversary present yesterday on Ebay. I can't wait to give it to him; it's something I fully intended to get him for a wedding present, and then our finances ended up so tight right before the wedding that we decided to forego wedding presents all together. This was financed totally with money from Ebay sales, so I don't feel at all guilty about spending the money on it. Now I just have to decide on a birthday present.

You know, we really didn't plan our gift-giving holidays well at all. Christmas, and then just six weeks later, my birthday. Then, not even a week later, Valentine's Day. Then our anniversary March 11, and Blue's birthday March 27. Kind of results in a dearth of presents the rest of the year.

I so wish I could link to SWWooP's diary so everyone could read her hysteria-inducing report of a conversation with her insane friend. But those of you privileged enough to have the password, oh man, that was the funniest thing I've read in ages. Probably wasn't quite as funny if you had to live it, of course.

Not much planned for the weekend. Rearranging the sewing room, now that the extra furniture is out of there; hitting the AADL book sale; maybe clothes shopping with my birthday money from Gramma. And coming in to work for a couple of hours tomorrow to make up for my half-day on Wednesday. I dread the thought of clothes shopping, but I have to get some new clothes; I've gained enough weight, sadly, that I must purchase some new pants. Stupid out-of-whack hormones. And besides, I'm in one of those hating-all-my-clothes phases, where I can barely stand to get dressed in the morning as I feel like I look like a total idiot in everything I own. Not that this is a good frame of mind to go clothes shopping in. Sigh.

11:23 a.m. - March 01, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: