caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

long weekends

I wanted to write about Memorial Day, but others have alredy said it better. And although my dad was in Vietnam, and my granddad in WWII, they both came home safe and sound, and that�s what I think about today. How glad I am that we don�t go out to the graveyard on these days to memorialize them. Course Dad�s dad still died before I was born, and left who knows how many bastard children in Italy, if my grandma is to be believed, and was too busy bonking the local women to keep memoirs of his experiences. And if Dad had died in Vietnam I wouldn�t be here, but that�s not the point. I�m not sure what the point is. Never mind, just go read Baf�s and Herworship�s entries.

Just a short entry, instead, because I am exhausted. It�s been a loooong long weekend. Didn�t do much Saturday besides have a big family fight and then a big family meeting and then a teary group hug, and then, finally, good sex (YMB, of course, only being involved up to the group hug part of that, you pervs). I think the glucophage, while regulating my hormones, has definitely kicked my sex drive back into high gear. Yay for me, boo for Blue working midnights. But Blue was happy Saturday night. Yay me.

Yesterday went to Mom & Dad�s for brunch, Kitty and CF being down for the weekend. They had their giant monster dog with them, so between Minnie�s Faith (who no longer is cute and puppyish, but bigger and gangliesh), Sophie, Moe, and Juneau (aforementioned big monster dog), and the (counts on fingers) eight of us, it was quite the scene. I was exhausted just being there. Nice to see everyone, but as I�ve said before, a little of my entire family in the same house goes a long way. Everyone tries to talk over each other, and the dogs are rampaging around, and it�s so damn loud you have to go to the bathroom to get a moment to yourself. YMB of course loved it, and he got to go on a long walk with Sophie and Juneau and Uncle CF, who managed, in course of said walk, to convince our child that bow-hunting is a wonderful thing for kids to do. Gee, thanks, least-favorite brother-in-law. YMB spent half the day asking questions about hunting, and why his dad doesn�t. Gargh. But I had a nice chat with Kitty, who I don't talk to enough, and she brought me a bag of clothes that she doesn't need anymore since she quit Eddie Bauer's and is working at a do-it-yourself type of furniture store again, which is far more casual. Apparently she had way more EB khakis than anyone could ever need. So yay for almost new clothes, and a generous sister the same size as me!

Eventually we proceeded on to friends of Blue�s, a guy he used to work with, his wife, and their two adorable and fairly well-behaved children. They have just moved into a house not ten minutes from us, and invited us over for a cook-out. I almost didn�t go, as I was teary and a bit overwhelmed from all the action at the parents, but am so glad I did, as we had a lot of fun. Bill is recovering from fairly advanced skin cancer, and we hadn�t seen him since before he got sick. He�s had like six skin grafts on his legs (and one in the groin area, ugh, which fortunately he did not offer to show us), and is still doing chemo, but is back at work and looks pretty good.

The kids are funny; last time I saw Will, a year ago, he was 2 and a half and not talking at all. Yesterday he sat and talked at me for a good half an hour. Hilarious child. And he complimented me on my toenail polish, which was his favorite color, purple. I hollered to Blue (who, along with Bill and Amy and their little girl, and some random neighbor kids, was involved in a softball game which from the sidelines looked rather more like Calvinball) �You never told me I have pretty toes.� At which point Blue accused Will of moving in on me, and Will got very confused and denied everything. But it was cute. And Will also liked the sparkly stickers on my cast. Gotta love a three year old with good taste.

Will ran rampant around the backyard almost getting whacked by plastic bats several times, YMB only threw one tiny fit, which Blue handled very well, and Will also told me all about elephants, apparently on the assumption that I had never seen one before. And we ALL got ice cream from the truck when it came through. Why is it that ice cream truck ice cream is better than any other kind there is? Sophie got most of Will�s actually, but other than that we were all happy. And Will was so happy that he got to feed Sophie his ice cream that he wasn't even that upset about losing it.

Yes, that�s me, living vicariously through other people�s children again. The older daughter, kindergarten-age, seems a little shy and didn't talk that much, but she seems sweet, if a bit whiny. Will is NOT shy. He gave me a hug when we were leaving (and kept saying "you don�t have to go yet. It�s not dark out.") and I just wanted to swoop him up and take him home with me. Sigh. I think he would have gone, but his parents would probably have objected.

Rereading that, I am apparently the queen of the run-on sentence and paranthetical asides tonight. Blame it on pain pills, please. I do have an advanced degree in English, I kin rite good. Really.

In good news, I have actually lost 10 pounds, give or take, since we bought our scale approx two or so months ago. And since I haven�t gained during this last month of forced immobility, I am taking that as a sign that the glucophage is doing its job, and regulating those fine screwed up hormones of mine, telling them they aren't supposed to be retaining all this weight (and, as an added benefit, reminding all those hormones that sex is a GOOD thing). If I can lose another 20 before the surgery in the fall, I will be quite happy. My size 14 shorts fit this morning � I couldn�t zip them and be comfy, so I wore some of Blue's instead, but they FIT, damnit. Yay me. Yay slimfast shakes, and yay glucopahage. And yay for some actual motivation, when this damn cast comes off. Thursday. Just three more days.

Today we went to Minnie and EngineerBoy�s for lunch, and it was just us and Mom there, so it was marginally more relaxed. Poor Dad had to work; he�s been on twelve hour shifts for several weeks now. Don�t know how he functions, I really don�t. The dogs happily explored the backyard, the boys played Xbox and Minnie and I downloaded Buffy stuff on her superfast cable modem (damnit, so jealous of that cable modem). Minnie kindly then burned me CD�s of the all important third-to-last Buffy ep, and also some fun clips and things she�s found, like the original pilot with a different, dumpy Willow. Cool beans. We looked online to see if we could find a decent price on the Spike action figure that I so desperately yet inexplicably covet (come on, he IS yummy), but everyone is sold out of them. Apparently very hard to find, and going for over 40 bucks on Ebay, which, as much as I adore Spike, is just ridiculous. Anyway, we have a CD-RW with this new computer, but I just haven�t had a chance to check it out yet. So I hope these play on my fancy-schmancy new Dell. Dude.

From there, over the in-laws, another 45-minute drive. I actually went in, said hi, and promptly fell asleep on the couch, while Blue helped his dad and Uncle J trim tree branches with a rented cherry picker (which YMB was of course very impressed with) and YMB alternately "helped" and zoomed about on his 4-wheeler (which I did not approve of him acquiring from the in-laws, but then I�m just the stepmother, nobody asked me). Uncle J�s wife Aunt M was there as well � and this gets complicated, but Aunt M is MIL�s sister and Uncle J is FIL brother, so they�re all related on several sides, and their kids are Blue�s double cousins, but anyway � well, Aunt M can get rather strident, and she�s always into whatever the latest health fad is � right now I believe it�s fruit and vegetable replacement pills, because hey, why eat an orange or a cucumber when you can just take a pill. This is the woman who, on my wedding day, asked me what my blood type was because of some �eat for your blood type� book she�d been reading. It was my wedding day, I could hardly remember my name, for cripes sake, never mind my blood type. And your wedding day is not the most tactful time for someone to tell you that you should go on a diet. Please.

Anyway, I figured with my latest health problems and the fertility stuff (which everyone on both sides of the family already knows WAY too much about, thank you very much, these are my insides, and please stop discussing them amongst yourselves and telling me I should stand on my head after sex), sleep was my best defense. I didn�t immediately GO to sleep, since MIL and Aunt M together are rather loud, and I heard the better part of the latest rehashed grouse about the Dementors (which MIL can just NOT let go of, and always brings up stuff that happened three years ago that we just need to forget about it) but apparently I did drift off somewhere in there and woke up when Blue shook me and told me dinner was ready. We did have pineapple upside down cake, so that was a plus. But we didn�t get home until past 10, and YMB and I both went to sleep in the car while Blue listened to the Wings lose yet another game in overtime to the EvilAvs, damnit (which I�m fairly glad the 8-year-old and I both slept through, as I�m sure Blue�s comments weren�t pretty).

So. Home again, home again, jiggety jig. I signed on, hoping Natahood was around to help me set up Moveable Type, which I downloaded on her recommendation for my new website, which has NOTHING there right now, but I apparently just missed both her and Swwoop. So, checked my email (idjithood former sublist people going on and on and on about a damn virus, let it GO already, that's what you have virus checkers for, really), decided to update, and then I'm off to bed. Of course, I started writing this at 10:30 intending to be in bed by 11, and it's after 12 now, but oh well. I did at least get some sleep earlier.

I will not, will not, will not, play Sims before bedtime tonight, as I stayed up until 2 am doing last night. No no no. Really. No.

Oh, and I DID succeed in sucking New Girl into Diaryland, so from now on she will be known as Cyn (and thanks for nicknaming yourself, btw, I�m running out of cute ideas and seriously need to update my cast list anyway) � go check her out at Cynical Woman. I think she�s gonna be cool. And we seem to have one of those bonds that happens rather instantaneously when you realize someone�s life experience have been so similar to yours, despite growing up in different parts of the country, rather like Natalieeeee and I did. Cool.

Hee, I have a friend who lives in the same town as me. Although it�s a little weird, a real life cubicle-next-door person reading my diary. I hope I didn�t write anything snarky about her after her interview. I can�t remember. Anyway, hi Cyn, and apologies if I did. Bwahaha, I am finally the sucker instead of the suckee. Which, on reflection, sounds way wrong. Oh well. But we can NEVER NEVER NEVER discuss this at work, you know. Hee. And I�ll work on a little layout for you, or at least a nice banner heading.

And Lucie now is whining at me to go to bed, and I should go. Will. Not. Check. On. My. Sims. First. No. Bad Caerula. Go to bedhood. Nowhood. (Neither Swwoop nor Natahood is around to yell at me, so I must yell at myself.)

So much for the short entry. I don�t think I�ve quite grasped that concept. Ever. Never mind the concept of too many parenthetical asides. Is there such a things as too many parenthetical asides? Nah.

G�night

11:37 p.m. - May 27, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: