caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So you say it's your biiiiirthdaaaaay...

I managed to have a decent birthday weekend despite a large number of annoyances which I will now inflict upon you in detail before I get to the good stuff.

Friday I had a charming discussion with the father of the other boy involved in the fight that got YMB suspended. He was pleasant and reasonable, but of the opinion that his son is "unpredictable" and "has a temper" and "you never know how he�ll react" so basically the kids need to be nicer to him. Uh-huh. Basically, "I have no control over my child and no intention of making him suffer any actual consequences." The actual fight, as you would expect of a fight between 5th graders, was a knock-down-drag-out over nothing, and by the end of the day YMB and the other kid were back to being friends, having spent all day sitting around the principal�s office jointly wondering what they�d gotten themselves into. No one was hurt, fortunately, although of course YMB is now dead, because when he got home from school on Thursday I killed him. So Friday he was home all day, and bored, because of course he has no privileges, being dead and all; fortunately Blue was, in the end, able to rearrange his schedule to stay home with him Friday and today.

Saturday morning: YMB�s first basketball game. We probably shouldn�t have let him play, since he's grounded from everything else even remotely entertaining or stimulating, but we did, and tried to make it a learning experience: "This is a chance for you to prove to us you can handle a stressful situation without acting inappropriately, and if you make one step out of line, you will never see a basketball again, etc., void where prohibited." It�s the first time we�ve let him do a team sport since the 3rd grade soccer fiasco, and we really want him to succeed; grounding him from the first game didn�t seem like a good way to install confidence. Anyway, so we go to the game and while we�re looking for seats in the gym Coach grabs us and volunteers us as time/scorekeepers. I spent a lovely hour and a half on a folding chair watching 10- and 11-year-olds run around like chickens with their heads cut off, trying to figure out if everyone has had equal playing time and who scored what and marking fouls, of which there were many. And at the end Coach asked us if we�d mind doing that for the rest of the games. Uh, sure. That's totally how I wanted to spend the next seven Saturday mornings.

Next annoyance is the insomnia that�s been plaguing me for days; every night for the past week or so I�ve been up at 3 or 4 in the morning, total unable to go back to sleep. Saturday night I got up and watched Smallville and Angel, which I�d recorded on Wednesday and never gotten to, and knitted. For two hours. I actually developed a bruise on the palm of my left hand from knitting. Went to sleep on the couch around 5 Sunday morning � my actual birthday � and woke up again around 7. Spent a couple of hours working on reviews, until my computer decided to get wacky and I spent the next three hours trying to fix it. It�s better now, but I can�t get any games to play; the disc spins up and the game starts, only to immediately crash. I�ve cleaned and deleted files and defragged and everything else I can think of, and nothing. Grrrrrrr.

Sunday afternoon Blue and I got into a lovely little tiff, due to stupidity on both our parts, so that was fun as well. It started with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers that arrived from my parents, which Blue got upset about, I think, because A) he hadn't thought to get flowers and B) it was a much larger bouquet than anything we could afford. And it just escalated from there. Oy.

But there was also good stuff, which balanced out of lot of the crap. Went out with Mom and Minnie Saturday afternoon, after the basketball game. We went to the movies ("Win a Date with Tad Hamilton" � hardly a classic, but entertaining enough), lunch, and shopping, as Mom let me pick out my own presents. So we went to Joann�s and Michaels and I picked up a bunch of crafty stuff � fibers, yarn, stickers, paper, etc., along with a light box which I�ve been coveting. There was a lot of snickering and talking and remembering, and it was just a really fun afternoo, and I think we managed to get Minnie hooked on scrapbooking as well, just by exposing her to all the nifty stuff there is. She's not exactly one to go in the craft store by herself.

Sunday afternoon Blue and I smoothed things over in time to meet my parents, along with Minnie and EB, at Red Lobster (shut up, there aren�t many seafood options here) for dinner. Dad got me a Virgin Mobile phone, since he hated that we don�t have cell phones right now but I was adamant about not going on a contract. Apparently I will be able to download ringtones from MTV. Be still my heart. Blue and YMB offered up a box full of Origins goodies from the Perfect World line, which smells yummy and is really nice to my winter-tortured skin, along with a nifty beginning knitting book and some genealogy software (which I can�t load, of course, until I get the computer to cooperate. Blah). It was funny about the book � I�d asked for the Knitting for Dummies book, since it looked like a good starter one from the Amazon reviews, but Blue hates those titles and couldn�t bring himself to purchase it. He admitted he picked this one out because it had the prettiest pictures, but it also looks to be quite a good starter tome. Good for him.

Oh, and Minnie provided the highlight of the evening. Along with Season 5 Buffy dvds (Glory! Spike! Dead Mom! Dawn (boo)!), she made me a SIX-cd compilation of the music from Buffy, from the entire run of the series. Between downloading and borrowing and her soundtracks she compiled just about every song ever used on the show, and burned them all for me, and even did fancy CD booklets and labels to go with it. Very very cool. My family rocks.

Then I came home and stayed up until past midnight finishing the reviews that were due today, because what�s a deadline without frenetic last minute writing?

And somehow, now, I�m 31. How the hell did that happen?


So, this was mildly entertaining, confirmed my feeling of being ooooollllllldddddddd, and got a bunch of lameass 80s songs stuck in my head:

1:52 p.m. - February 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

damnit

My kid got suspended from school today, for fighting. I have to figure out what to do with him next Monday and Tuesday because God forbid my husband take a night off so that he can stay up with him, even though I took time off for the snowdays last week AND I have to take next Wednesday off so that I can go get needles and probes stuck into me. I had three freaking hours of sleep last night as my insomnia is back with a vengeance.

It hasn't been the best day. I'm going to bed, and I'll think about it tomorrow, damnit.

11:43 p.m. - February 05, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where I've been


create your own visited states map

Apparently I need to go west, young me.

1:00 p.m. - February 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: