caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eliot was wrong -- it's March

April isn't the cruelest month; in Michigan, at least, that honor goes to March. It's the first day of spring (it's also Kitty's birthday, and Auntie's. Must send ecards), so of course it's freezing today. Well, it's in the 40s, so not literally freezing, but it's cold and dim and rainy, and it's supposed to be colder tomorrow and Friday. Michigan always does this to us in March; we have a few days of gorgeous sunny springlike weather, and right about the time we're thinking spring is actually here at last, winter comes back with a vengeance.

The cruelest instance of that happening was two years ago, right before my wedding. The week before had been utterly beautiful. Sunny and in the 70s, which is rather unusual for us at the beginning of March. As I ran around that week doing all the little last-minute things we had to do, I charmed myself with visions of moving the wedding out-of-doors, onto the veranda outside the ballroom of the house we got married in. Crocuses were blooming, people rolled down car windows and propped open shop doors. Three days before the wedding, I picked up QueenV at the airport and we spent the following day wandering around Greenfield Village and Henry Ford Museum, taking advantage of the weather. The tv people were warning of a cold front, but I ignored them.

The morning of my wedding I woke up to freezing rain, and that night, it SNOWED. Not just a little snow, but a huge nasty storm, which totally broke up our reception hours before it should have ended because everyone was worried about getting home. Getting out of the car at the hotel, I had to lift my skirts up to my knees to keep them out of the muck, and my wedding shoes were all but ruined.

This March hasn't been quite that bad, but it's still depressing. We have flowers coming up and buds on the trees � I know I saw a crocus the other day � but winter just won't let us go. Sigh.

Was up far too late again last night, chatting with Nata and Swwoop, and then read for another hour before I was able to go to sleep. I don't sleep as well the nights Blue is working; it makes it much harder for me to drop off to sleep when he's not there. And he was being kind of annoying before he left, because the Wings played a crappy game last night and he takes it way too personally when they lose, something that I don't think I will ever be able to understand. Lots of stupid things can ruin a good mood for me, but not the outcome of a sporting event. So I was kind of glad he was going to work so he could be a butthead there instead, but I still couldn't fall asleep easily.

Finally got around to order the Sampler Thread I need to finish my cross-stitch; all I have left is one of the stars at the top and the rest of the bunny. I've been bringing it to work to work on at lunch, and have found that it's a good thing, as that Satan-spawn Martha would say; I�m far more relaxed afterward than if I just eat and surf the web. I think I'll turn this one into a pillow.

And speaking of work, I should get to it.

9:00 a.m. - March 20, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: