caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mission 2.23

Note: Second entry today.
Monday Mission 2.23(I remembered!)

1. Do you have a side of the bed on which you prefer to sleep? Do you sleep on that side even when traveling or does it matter?
Actually, no, and my husband thinks this is weird as it has forced him not to have a favorite one either. Which side I sleep on depends on who has to get up first. And when I was single or when not sleeping with hubby, I sleep smack in the middle.

2. What is your favorite "Theme Park?" How come and when was the last time you were there?
Don't really have one now, haven't been to one in ages. But up through high school it was Cedar Point (The AMAZEment Park) How come? Only decent park close enough to drive to. I've never liked roller coasters in any case; I prefer the ones that swing you around and around. Last time I was there? Maybe four, five years ago, and that was when I had the realization that going on just the swinging things wasn't enough to make it enjoyable, and that the food sucked, and my feet hurt. Of course, that was also when I realized that I was old.

3. What is your most and least favorite thing about staying in hotels? Most favorite depends on whether or not the hotel has a whirlpool/hot tub. That is definitely a big bonus. Otherwise, I love sleeping in king-size beds, with the fresh sheets, and because I can sleep in the middle no matter which side Blue claims. And those velvety blankets you still get in some hotels. I love those.
Worst? When you run down to the vending machine in the morning in your pj's because you desperately need something caffeinated and inevitable some big convention is just leaving or gathering, and your stuck there in your pink Winnie-the-Pooh sleepshirt with everyone looking at you. Also, you never have good water pressure in the shower.

4. Did you ever take family vacations that required looooooong car rides? Were siblings involved ("Stop touching me! Don't cross this line!)? Were the trips just unbearable or did you make up some "car ride games" to pass the time?
We took nothing but vacations that required long car rides, since we couldn't afford to fly anywhere with two adults and three kids. I actually remember them as fairly entertaining. We usually were on our way up to the UP, once or twice into Canada, and a couple of times we drove south to Tennessee. My mom always had little "car presents" for us, all put into a handy little box, and we couldn't open them til we hit the highway. That was always a thrill when we were little. We always had brand new books (a big deal for me), and coloring books and car games and stuff. And we sang incessantly, and made up games � first person to see a cow, the alphabet game, the minister's cat, who saw license plates from the most states. My sisters and I were always fiercely competitive, so sometimes these games did denigrate into hair-pulling and arm-pinching. But I mostly remember them as fun � especially after we got a van and didn't have to fight over window seats. Even when we were older � the last long car ride we did together was when we went to Myrtle Beach the year before I started grad school, so I was 22, Kitty was 20, and Minnie was 15. And we still sang those same stupid songs and made up games and stuff. Kitty had won a stuffed frog puppet on the boardwalk, and kept popping it up over the back of seats singing "I'm your puppet." Hearing this song when we're together can still send us into gales of hysteria, which mystifies our husbands (who have been told the story, but of course you had to be there).

5. With all the drilled peep-holes and spy-cams we hear about on the news, have you ever felt self-conscious about taking off your clothes in a hotel bathroom? Has wondering if someone was on the other side of that mirror on the wall above the dresser made you think twice about "gettin' busy?"
No and no.

6. Describe the most romantic vacation you have ever taken or if that does not apply, tell me about the worst vacation you have ever taken.
Unfortunately both in the same trip � our honeymoon. We had to move up our wedding (no, not for THAT), and so made last minute honeymoon plans. Neither of us could get enough time off work to do what we had planned for a honeymoon, which was a walking tour through England. So instead we took the train to Toronto for a long weekend. 4.5 hour train ride which turned into nearly 7 due to various delays. It was March, so it was damn cold. I got sick. I got the post-wedding letdown and cried a lot, and poor Blue had no idea what to do. We wanted to go to Second City, or but they weren't on the days we were there, and there were no good shows in town that I could convince Blue to go to. So we went to a majorly sucky-ass comedy place instead. There were like seven people there. It was awful. And between crying jags and being sick, I couldn't eat anything, so no romantic dinners. We may have had sex, or at least attempted to, once. Let's just say, a good time was not had by all.
On the other hand, the hotel upgraded us to an executive suite on the top floor. We had an awesome view and free breakfast in the executive lounge every morning. That's on the top floor of the Toronto Sheraton, with a 360 view of the city, which is gorgeous. And we got a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates and super treatment from the staff. And hot tub and pool and stuff of course. So even though it was cold and depressing in general, at least the hotel was cozy and romantic. And Blue swears the most romantic thing I did for him was follow him around the Hockey Hall of Fame, which at the time I had no interest in whatsoever.
As for family vacations, the worst would actually be a tie, both longer stories than I have time to tell at the moment. There was the one where A) the AC in the motel leaked and everything we had on the floor was wet in the morning B) the motel wouldn't do anything about it and C) we got kicked out of a Bob's Big Boy. Then there was the one where we stayed in the motel where their was no phone in the room and the desk lady told us "Most hotels don't have phones," and the bathroom was so nasty that we got up that morning and checked out and went to a Y to shower and change.

7. (continued) After a full tummy and four days of sleep, I'd say I've never felt better. Since it is nearly noon, how about you come over and we'll hang out on the deck. I have a pool, hot tub and lotsa eats and drink. But feel free to bring whatever else you think we need! How should we spend this fine afternoon at the pool? I don't know about you. I'm laying in a deckchair with a drink and a good book, and like 65 SPF sunscreen. Maybe I'll dangle my feet in the water. Whatever.

BONUS: Have you got it, do you get it, if so, how often?
I'm too tired to answer this question, or really even to make it make sense. So there.

2:52 p.m. - June 10, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: