caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cookie cookie cookie starts with c

Off, in just a few minutes, to our annual family cookie-baking get-together. Not sure who all will be there this year, but there will be no end of cookie dough and icing bowls to lick, and I can only hope that Auntie will come to make her famous peanut butter divinity log (heaven!) and that I will be a help and not a hindrance. Usually I�m relegated to rolling out dough, flouring the pans, things like that. Maybe they�ll let me actually make something this year, since my cooking skills really have improved.

Then tonight it�s a Christmas/surprise birthday party. The party is for my cousin R�s girlfriend/wife/live-in companion � we don�t really know what to call L. They had a commitment ceremony in the summer but I�ve never really heard R refer to her as anything but her name or �hon.� Anyway, I don�t know L very well yet and so am taking cookies and alcoholic beverage in lieu of a present. But they are lovely women and have a gorgeous house and cool friends and dogs to play with, so it should be a fun party. They also have an actual working old-fashioned vending machine in the basement that dispenses free pop. How cool is that?

Watched Rudolph last night, although YMB is at the Dementors and Blue was napping and refused to get up and watch it with me, so I was reduced to making snarky comments to Sophie, who didn�t really appreciate them as much as I might have hoped. I guess the dog doesn�t really care if Donner is a misogynist bastard. Oh well. Perused the listings for the week and found that both Year Without a Santa Claus and the animated Night Before Christmas are going to be on again, so I have the timer set to record both. Yay. And I will remember to protect the recordings so that NO ONE �accidentally� erases them. Also, new Buffy next week! Yahoo! And much ice skating on this weekend, plus the new Nancy Drew movie tomorrow night. I am going to be a tv geek for the next few days. At least one can accomplish things like wrapping presents and cross-stitching while watching tv, so it won�t be a complete waste of time.

Okay, I have to go blow-dry my hair and get out of here. Off to cookieland!

12:51 p.m. - December 14, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: