caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

list o' things i hate

I decided it was time to redo this site, and I found that I've become such a ring whore that I need to make another page for all those little tags, so they aren't cluttering up this page. So that's what the entry after this one will be. I'll get a link to it up at some point.

I am eating a McDonald's filet "o'" fish sandwich and french fries for lunch. Bad girl. No dessert.

I notice on my sandwich wrapping that McD's has taken the apostrophe out of the name of the sandwich. Now it is a filet-o-fish. I suppose this is so no one can sue them for actually implying the filet is of actual fish. However, I do find it disappointing and grammatically incorrect. Besides, what the hell is an "o-fish"?

I enjoy products that are "o'" something. Once upon a time I actually had a list of them. My favorite was a sign I saw in Paris in 1992 for a beauty shop. It was called Coiffure O'Hommes. That's the only one I remember from the list. Cracked me up -- it's like how places here have "La" stuck in front of their names, like it fancies it up somehow. There's a dollar store near us called "La Bargain Mart." Like we'd suddenly go, "Oh, look, this must be French dollar store junk. How classy!"

The other thing I hate is how stingy they are with the ketchup packets. At the drive-up you have to ask for them all the time --they never just give them to you anymore -- and when you do ask, they give you like two. Two ketchup packets are not sufficient for an order of large fries. If you go inside you can take however much ketchup you want from the bin. Maybe the drive-up stinginess is to comepensate for people who take ten packets when they eat inside? Ironically, however, I take all those extra ketchup packets when I'm inside so I can stash them in my drawer at work, so that when I get back with my bag "o'" food and discover I only have one packet, I have enough stashed to get through the entire order of fries.

Blue is going to a Red Wings game tonight and isn't taking me, so I hate him. No, not really, but still. He got two tickets off someone at work who needed to get rid of them, and was going to take his best friend/ex-roommate, but then J backed out last night, so instead he is taking YMB. Who is way excited about it, so that's okay. And it gives me the house to myself for a whole evening.

I hate that I missed the new "Buffy" last night because of a stupid basketball game UPN50 decided to show instead.

I hate OCLC, for no good reason other than their stupid error reports are making my life a living hell at work.

You know, I really can't think of too many other things that I hate right now. Not that this is necessarily good; mostly it just means that I'm too apathetic to care enough to hate.

I hate that.

12:20 p.m. - January 09, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: