caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a little out of it

You know you've got the week of to a roaring good start when the first thing someone tells you when you get to work Monday morning is that you have your sweater on inside out.

Really. I went to PT this morning and apparently got dressed in a major hurry when I left, as my sweater was inside out. And here's the really bad part � I was in the bathroom, at the mirror, when I was told this, so I'd been standing there staring at myself and hadn't noticed a thing.

Not an auspicious Monday morning sign.

So, the weekend. When I got home Friday, there was a big red heart taped to the door that said Happy Birthday and was decorated by Blue and YMB. Blue had left to pick up YMB from school; when they got back they had gorgeous pink and white tulips for me. So I have two gorgeous bouquets I have to put up in weird high places while I'm away so the cats won't get them.

The Dementors picked up YMB and my mom came over and took Blue and I out to dinner at Red Lobster. I got carded when I ordered my drink, which made me feel pretty good. I used to get so annoyed when I got carded, because I know I look young, but I don't think I look that young. But now that I am almost as close to 40 as I am to 20, getting carded is getting to be a nice thing.

Came back and watched the opening ceremonies of the Olympics with mom and Blue. I did like them overall, and there were moments that gave me chills � the Miracle on Ice team lighting the torch, the buffalo and horse and bird puppets, even the bit with the young skater that grows up to be Kristi Yamaguchi, mostly because I really like that song "Gold" that played during that segment. But � don't hate me � Sting and Yo-Yo Ma pretty much bored me to tears. I was starting to fall asleep at that point, so maybe that's why. And during the whole "Find the fire within" segment with the Child of Light, many snarky comments were heard from the vicinity of our sofa.

"Have you heard the good news about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints?"

"And then the angel Moroni came down and led the Child of Light to the golden plates�"

(No offense to LDS church members. I grew up in an area with a huge LDS membership, and of course I have the crazy Mormon cousins to deal with, so I hold no personal grudges against the LDS church. Really.)

And really, I admire the job Salt Lake is doing in not making these Games one big excuse for proselytizing to the masses. Still, when you watched the opening ceremonies and saw all those white faces and blond hair, and then were subjected to the comedy stylings of Costas and Couric, it was hard to take seriously. Especially the giant icicles, although I didn't see the KKK resemblance until afterward, when someone else mentioned it.

I admire Bush, also, for opening the games from among the athletes and then staying there, hanging out with them and talking to Sasha Cohen's mom on her cell phone. And though I tend to avoid politics here, every take note: this is probably the first time the words "I admire Bush" have appeared in this space.

The Native American portion of the program was nifty beyond words. And I even liked the hoe-down, although I did not realize that Utah was actually settled by dancing Mormons and Chinese.

I like Canada's Rootswear, but I think the Americans actually looked a bit frighteningly militaryish in their dark blue jackets.

And, best of all, there is an athlete from Finland � I'm guessing a skier, but who knows � named Markku Uusipaavalniemi. How cool is that? I want him to win something just so that Bob Costas will be forced to say his name.

Oh, so anyway, back to my weekend. I spend most of Saturday napping on the couch, actually; I didn't get dressed until almost six pm, when Blue's parents took us out to dinner for my birthday. I had a killer headache for a good part of the day, which is my excuse. Talked to QueenV for two hours, getting the details on her recent move and the beginning of classes. Her professors sound far more uptight than my libsci profs were.

So then we went out to dinner � Cracker Barrel, where we ALWAYS go with the in-laws � and then did a Meijer's run for groceries, where my tummy decided to start rebelling against, apparently, two days of restaurant food. Gah. Here we shall pass a curtain over the remainder of my evening, until the Pepto kicked in and I was finally able to fall asleep around two in the morning.

Yesterday, however, I actually managed to accomplish things. Worked on my quilt for a couple of hours, although I completely screwed up a couple of blocks and will have to totally redo them. Got the cross-stitch stuff listed on Ebay. Packaged up books to ship out today for Amazon and Half.com sales -- who knew that the old Sunfire Romances are apparently now huge collectors items? Some of them go for 12 and 15 bucks � for a Scholastic paperback that was originally $2.99! Finally found my Bent Creek pattern for the Easter sampler I've been dying to start, sorted out the thread, cut and taped the fabric � and then was unable to find my QSnaps. Errghhh. Watched snowboarding and moguls, both of which were awesome, even if the mom in me shuddered inwardly at every jump and twist. Go Kelly Clark! Gotta love the only Olympic sport where the spectators form a mosh pit, and the gold medal is won by a completely normal looking 18-year-old.

Also got all the bills and loan information entered into Evil Microsoft Money, which proceeded to inform me that our budget didn't balance because our expenditures outweighed our income. No, really? It also told me that our current rate of payment we could expect to be out of debt by 2007. Thanks so much, Microsoft.

Sewed some more, looked unsuccessfully for QSnaps some more, obsessively checked auction and book listings for signs of impending money, chatted with Natalieeee both via phone and IM, watched part of the Slovakia-Latvia hockey game on CNBC while Blue tried to explain all the differences between Olympic hockey and pro hockey, which I pretty much tuned out, and did his best to convince me that Bob Costas is funny, which I completely tuned out. Went to bed, had weird dreams as usual, got up, went to PT, and here I am.

It's taken me three hours to compose this in between efforts at actually working. And now it's lunch time.

1:05 p.m. - February 11, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: