caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

randomosity

I am updating at 4:20 am. Why? I don�t know. A lot of stuff has happened this week, good and bad. But most important, the Wings pulled it off tonight! Whoohoo! On to Round 2!

Okay. I believe the last time I updated was before last Tuesday, when the Great Spirit of Momhood possessed me and I was persuaded to help chaperone a field trip of 80 third graders to Michigan Rural Education Day. Call me insane ("you�re insane!") but it actually wasn�t too bad. I was in charge of YMB and a couple of other kids, the one I remember being Jake because I said his name approximately 1,242 times during the course of the morning. Fortunately it was a fairly short busride, because the noise level on the yellow box was horrendous. Either we were NEVER that loud as children, or I have completely blocked out busrides.

As for actual Rural Education Day, let�s just say that the highlight of the day for most of them was getting ice cream cones and at one point seeing a cow pee. I�m sure those are the two things they told their parents about later.

"Hey Jake, how was your field trip?"
"It was boring. But we got ice cream. And we saw a cow go pee!"

*****

Random shout-outs: let�s all send good butt-kicking thoughts towards Natalieeeeee. Ready? OMMMMMMMMMM. Okay, thanks. So glad you're doing better, sweetie. One nervous breakdown at a time among the hoods is really one too many. Oh, and Fluff? You rock. Do you know how awesome you are? Well, you are.

*****

Wednesday was a baaaaad day. Delayed reaction from the outing or what, I don�t know. Had to take Sophie to the vet to determine cause of violent yellow puke that she�s been gifting us with, and we a)had to collect a fecal sample (I heard YMB asking Blue "What�s a fecal sample?" I didn�t hear Blue�s answer, just YMB�s "EWWWWW" and Blue�s response, "see, you don�t really want to know everything we do, do you?") and b) buy expensive pills that we have to shove down my poor little girl�s throat. Added up to something like $120. Grr. We also had a bunch of overdrafts this week, which all seemed to turn up on Wednesday. Blue was grumpy, I was grumpy, and YMB was flying because he was leaving for Florida on Friday with the Dementors, which made both of us even more grumpy.

Thursday was better. Blue went to the bank and it turned out most of it was their fault, which they actually agreed to for once and gave us back $300. Went to see my reproductive endocrinologist, who totally validated my feeling that some of these up and down hormonal things could certainly contribute to a flare-up of anxiety and depression (and he never once told me that it "wasn�t a medical problem." He definitely thinks I have PCOS, which my FORMER regular doctor refused to even test me for, and put me on glucophage, which is supposed to help regulate the hormonal imbalances and might even help me lose weight, if I continue eating pretty well and walking as I have been. Slimfast shakes aren�t actually all that bad, at least not the pineapple-orange flavor. And he thinks that if we do decide to go for IVF, that chances are I will get pregnant right away. Anyone out there have $8000 do lend us for that?

Friday I put in some more flowers, which was good, and YMB left, which was bad. He won�t be back until a week from Monday, and while there is some relief in looking forward to a week of peace and quiet, there is more fear and missing him. Argh. Delayed reaction: I smiled and waved until they turned the corner, then retreated into sobs. And it�s not even so much that�s he�s going to be with the Dementors for that long, although that idea does not thrill me; they do love him and take care of him. It�s just that I�m missing him so damn much, which I really didn�t realize was going to happen.

Also, had another appointment with Mary Poppins Friday. Blue couldn�t take me due to work, and Mom & Dad left that morning to go up to TC and visit Kitty and CF. So Auntie took me, as she had the day off, which was really nice of her. We had to go pick up Buttercup from kindergarten while we were out, and as always she makes me laugh and makes me sad at the same time. He hair looked like it hadn�t been combed in weeks, and my offer to braid it for her was met with so much delight that it was obvious no one does that for her very often. But she�s still an hilarious and sweet-natured feckled-nosed 5-year-old, albeit one who�s rather bossy. "Grandma, don�t you know I like Frosties the best? Don�t you know I NEED to go to the dollar store? Don�t you know, don�t you know�." And she cheats at Tic Tac Toe. Or is it Doe? I never remember.

Today (well, yesterday, actually) I tried to do to much at ended up really tired and shaky by the end of the day. But I did get lucky. And the Wings won!

We started out at a church rummage sale, proceeded to the Saline library booksale (where I found a hardcover Kushiel�s Dart in pristine condition), and proceeded to Wendy�s and then the big Ann Arbor library Spring Book Sale. The Wendy�s made me feel kind of yucky, but the book sale was great � lots of good finds that will sell, including five or six Sunfire books. Yay! Then we returned home so Blue could sleep � he�d worked the night before � and I went back out to drop off overdue library books at what I�ve taken to calling the Snotty Staff Library, where I did at least find a couple more quilt books to look at. They don�t get any quilting or crafty magazines, which is so wrong, considering they get like 200 periodicals. And the Snotty Staff person wouldn't let me get a book-on-tape on my Michicard, despite the fact that when I signed up for the Michicard (since we refuse to pay $75 a year to use a library two miles aways, just becasue we're in a different township) I was ASSURED there were no restrictions on materials. SSP went and got a head librarian when I argued with her, who was equally snotty and assured me that has ALWAYS been the policy and I couldn't possibly have checked out a BOT (I guess I imagined it) and then tried to get me to join up for $75. Not a chance, dude. They also don't have the new Laurell Hamilton OR the new Peters, which is EXTREMELY annoying.

And then I had to go on to Target to fill a prescription, and by then I was so damn tired that I started shaking while I was in the store and had to go buy a Luna bar and sit in the little caf� part and eat it while I was waiting. I saw a t-shirt I REALLY want � "I don�t need your attitude, I have enough of my own" � but of course they didn�t have it in fat chick sizes. I got some weed & feed and some lawn food � our poor sod, in this stupid clayey soil, is not doing very well right now � and finally, finally went home. Took a rather ineffectual bath (the water did not stay hot enough to fill up the tub) and crawled into bed beside Blue about 7:30, where the aforementioned getting lucky took place. Then I had the following hilarious conversation with Natalieeee:

*Ring*
Me, groggily, "Hello?"
N: "Hi, did I wake you up?"
Me: "No I�m in bed, but we weren't sleeping,"
N: "Oh, sorry, were you having sex?"
Note to N: if were actually at the HAVING of it, I wouldn�t be picking up the phone.
Me: "No, it�s okay, we just got done."
N: "Oh. Well, good. I�m glad you had sex."
Me, to Blue: "Natalie�s glad we had sex."
Blue, groggily: "Me too."

Anyway, then I talked to Natahood for a while and Blue got up, ostensibly to make me some toast and get me an orange, but really to watch the rest of the playoff game. So I eventually go up and got my own orange (but made Blue peel it for me) and eventually he did make me toast. And I was happy. And the Wings won, did I mention that?

Blue went to work, I�ve slept off and on, and here I am. Back to work on Monday, but only part-time for a couple of weeks, so that�s good. And I hope Sherman didn�t decide to pull any of his stupid jokes and move everything around in my cubicle, or turn it upside down (which he and his cohorts did to a woman on maternity leave, once). And I wonder how many people know why I�ve been gone, and how many people I will have to deal with asking how I�m feeling. Grr.

So, as YMB used to finish off long rambling stories when he was younger, that was that and this is now and the end.

Addendum: Added later because damn ISP kept signing me off and I have no patience for messing with it at 4:30 am.

5:11 a.m. - April 28, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: