caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

really random links, and way more buffy than i intended

Too many sick sad links today, so they get their own section. And Cyn (still NOT UPDATING! Bad librarian! No biscuit!) and I are collecting these for a purpose, so feel free to contribute.

Gallery of Regrettable Food new additions: freaky party cakes and scary grill food.

Student sues to get "A" changed to "A+". Do I even need to add snark to that?

Another great addition to the Institute of Official Cheer (So, I haven't been there in a while. Humor me.) : Big Little Books.

MUM: Not for the squeamish.

And in the same, uh, vein, try a new art form.

On a lighter note, The Ministry of Silly Cat Walks.

On to the content, what there is of it:


Note to Library of Congress (that no one but Cyn will get): Scotland was, for many hundreds of years, not part of Great Britain. They had their own laws and everything.

Seriously, trying to assign subject headings and call numbers for some of the stuff I�ve been cataloging lately is just ridiculous. Today I spent well over an hour trying to find appropriate call numbers for several 1690s works on health and nutrition. You�d think there�d be a subheading for "history of" wouldn�t you? Nope.

Quote for the day: "I would be most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves." ~ Anna Quindlen, "Enough Bookshelves," New York Times, 7 August, 1991


Random thoughts from this week's Buffy and Angel (feel free to skip if you don't care about a little made-up tv world where vampires and demons wander around freely but no one ever remembers to carry weapons or a cell phone):

That was so not Angelus last night. Deeply disappointed. S2 Angelus was evil, yeah, but funny. Charming, witty, sharp. In a scary, I'm-going-to-kill-you way. This guy was just crude and mean. That's just not right. I don't know if it was the writing or David Boreanaz's acting (or lack thereof), or if it's one of those stupid misdirections they love to throw at the fans and then explain later on. I hate those.

Speaking of misdirection, why is Amy suddenly so evil? I can understand her jealousy. But how does she know Willow killed Warren and tried to destroy the world? I wouldn't have thought that to be common knowledge. And it still doesn't explain how she knows about the Little Miss Slayerettes.

There was goodness, though. Like Giles not dead and/or Evil. Although they better come up with a darn good explanation as to why he was all Robo-Giles and no-touchy, and no one thought to hug him. If it was just In The Script, I will be annoyed. Because if Giles was in my house I'd be hugging him all the time, really.

I didn't want to like Andrew, but he's growing on me. Probably because he's getting most of the funny lines. And at least he finally sort of expressed remorse for KILLING HIS BEST FRIEND. I don't care whose evil influence he was wander. I miss Jonathan.

Kennedy: meh. She doesn't impress me one way or another. I don't hate her as much as I do the other proto-slayers, but I don't really like her either. I don't particularly see her with Willow, but I'm also not an insane Tara fan who will send Joss Whedon death threats for giving Willow another love interest. She's just meh. Willow deserves better.

"Let Molly out of the trunk" � hee! I think not, at least not until she promises to drop the hive-inducing Cockneystralian accent.

Liked Willow in the beginning � "ok, not when you make it sound all dirty like that!" Somewhat back to herself. "Lesbi-dar." Bwah! Hated the whole turning-into-the-dork-I-killed story. And why did it have to be the kiss that saves her? Dependent much? Willow never ever gets to make the first move or decide on her own who to get involved with. Oz likes her, so she likes him back. He leaves, she falls apart and screws up. Tara likes her, she gets all strong and independent. Tara leaves, she falls apart and screws up. Tara's back, oh, Tara's dead, she's all evil and world-destroying. Now Kennedy likes her, so she can get over all that angst and be strong and independent again. Whatever. Blah. One of the main themes of BtVS is that it's not supposed to be the fairy-tale. Hello? The guilt over kissage was a nice touch, but couldn't it have been worked through in, oh, say, an actual conversation with her best friends? And Alyson Hannigan is so adorable. Why are they making her look so old and haggard? Is this what guilt does to you? Is that really the over-arching message of the season?

Good stuff:
"Someone apparently told them I take them out into the desert, do the Hokey-Pokey, and then a Rasta first slayer appears and speaks to them in riddles." Hee! And continuity, yay!
Dawn and Andrew poking at Will�er�Warr�er, Will-ren.
"There are other stories from kindergarten, non-yellow crayon stories, in which you don't come out in such a good light."
"Who ya gonna call � that phrase is never going to be usable again, is it?"
Non-Insane!Non-Chained-Up!Spike, soon to be Non-Chipped!Spike, I'm guessing.

Bad things:
I know the government is inefficient, but even if it didn't fill in the Initiative with concrete, would it have really left all those bodies down there for years? And if it's so easy to get into, how come no one's found it since then?
How did Will-ren know where to find the coven? And why wouldn't she have called the one in England that actually helped her, instead of going to the one that for all she knows is still holding bake sales?
Why was it so easy for Will-en to buy a gun? It's not like she would have had Warren's id on her. Don't they do background checks in California?
Somehow I don't see Riley leaving Buffy the option to de-chip Spike. It's not like Riley would know about the soul-getting, or care even if he did.
And ending the show with no resolution for Spike and no exposition from Giles � bad Drew Greenberg! No biscuit! He's one of my favorite ME writers (yay for "Older and Far Away," Firefly, and boo to Fox!) after Jane Espenson (who is just the best), and miles better than Marti Noxious, but if those end up being off-screen, boo for bad story-telling techniques.

That was a really long sentence.

Okay, I'm done, now that I've lost most of you with minute dissection and obsessive-fan references. Overall impression: better, in that there was more than one plot and almost everyone got some snarky lines, but also frustrating and kind of annoying.


Actually, I really am done. I have to go make dinner for an insistent kid, now. Imagine. He wants me to cook for him and everything. Laterrrrrrr.

7:11 p.m. - February 06, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: