caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

recovering

Seems like I should have a lot to say, after being silent for almost a week, but, no. I was so icky sick � strep throat, ear infection, sinusitis, the works � that I spent much of Tues-Fri sleeping on the couch under the influence of Nyquil. When awake, I ate Popsicles, drank juice, watched Days of Our Lives (what is UP with that show???) and other bad television, and complained to Blue, when he was awake, about how crappy I felt.

What else? YMB started back to school, and so far so good. Mrs. W. is very organized, makes them write down all their assignments in agenda books, and parents have to check off that homework�s been done for the kid to get credit. He knows a bunch of the kids in his room, and he�s on the TOP FLOOR, which status-wise is a big deal. And he�s not whining, at least not yet, and has written his assignments down every day. It�s not a big deal, yet, but we definitely want to encourage him to keep it up. So, out for ice cream last night for a treat, after we dropped off birthday flowers and pecan rolls at my mom�s. We were going to surprise her and take her to dinner, since my dad was working, but apparently dad had already surprised her and taken a half-day off to do that, so instead we left the flowers etc and cleaned the kitchen for her. Which she was way happier about than the flowers, I believe.

Family dinner stuff tomorrow for Mom�s birthday, since everyone will be able to attend. Kitty and CF will be able to come down for the day, so plans have to be made around them, as usual. Thus the kitchen clean-up; with Dad working 12-hour days, Mom would have had to do that today, and it seemed hardly fair for her to have to clean house for her own birthday celebration. Minnie will make the cake, of course, and Kitty will buy a nifty present from one of the touristy shops in TC, which we couldn�t afford to do this year. So, cleaning services.

Blue�s decided definitely on going back to school (part of the reason we can�t afford much of anything right now). His class schedule will be Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6-10, from which he will have to go right to work, poor guy. YMB is doing gymnastics after school Mondays and Wednesdays, and I signed up for a Tai Chi class on Wednesday nights. We are every overscheduled suburban family, suddenly. I�m glad YMB picked gymnastics this year, though, after his problems with soccer last year. He�s just a bit too competitive for team sports right now, I think.

Having Blue back in school will be the hardest part about this year, but, I think, ultimately worth it. In a year, he will have his massage therapist certificate, and his class hours can be credited towards the sports medicine degree which is his ultimate goal. And in the meantime, he can be doing something he likes, and which doesn�t have him on a schedule of midnights. I have said, however, that I would rather he gets a job in sports or healthcare � no massaging toned women at the health club! In practical terms, that sort of job is more stable, as well, and higher-paying. And since another goal is to make and save enough money so that I can stay home, or at least work part-time, and so that we can think again about having a child, this is also a good thing.

I am so just rambling here. That paragraph was so long. Urgh. Can�t focus. My head is still all woozy, even though I am finally feeling better.

Got an email today from high-school-boyfriend, with whom we are still planning some vague in-the-future get together with his wife and child. They found out about a month ago they are pregnant again. Sigh. More overly fertile people I know � they were in total shock. Happy now, but it was unexpected. Blahsuck.

I�m feeling vaguely depressed. And Sophie is whining that she needs to go out. And it�s near time to get my husband up, so he can have dinner and such before he goes to work tonight, and I sleep again by myself. He had two nights off in a row this week, but I was so sick both nights that I didn�t want to get too close, which meant no nooky for us, in our already deprived sex lives. Midnight shifts suck. Definitely feeling sorry for myself today. So I suppose I should wrap this up. There are those much worse off, I know. Blah.

PS: Happy Birthday, SWWOOP!

4:34 p.m. - August 31, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: