caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

up and down like a rollercoaster

Very up and down weekend, and so far today hadn't gotten any better. YMB being at the Dementors, seeing Star Wars and apparently acquiring a puppy, because they of course have to one-up us in everything, I spent most of Saturday, while Blue slept, watching BBC America and playing Sims. I have a Trading Spaces house now, and a Changing Rooms house. The Trading Spaces house has every hideously ugly thing I could find in it, and I'm making Paige Page live there. Because that's her name, legally you know � Paige Davis Page, which I found out via TV Without Pity. The Changing Rooms house of course features Laurence, complete with velvet outfit.

I downloaded way too much crap from various Sims sites (very disappointed to discover that Mall of the Sims has gone the way of pay sites, blahsuck) so I could make these houses really hideous. Yet proud of myself that I figured out how to get all this fug-ugly red velvet crap integrated into the game. Yay, love the new Dell.

Still haven't retrieved all my files off the old computer, which I have to get around to so that a) I can rebuild my website and b) we can sell it and maybe get a couple hundred bucks out of the deal. Our dryer quit this weekend � not that we didn't expect it, it's older than Blue and was in fact his parents old one � and we want to get a stackable washer and dryer so that we can maximize space in our dinky laundry room. My dad, with his mysterious web of connections to various carpentry and appliance places, can get us a "deal". I'm not asking any questions.

Mark got up Saturday and went to see Star Wars with a buddy of his, despite the fact that the Wings/EvilAvs game was on. It was tivo'd for him, needless to say, and I would like to point out that Natalieeeee and I am totally responsible for my boy Darren's hat trick � his first one ever. We were on the phone through the first half of the game, which wasn�t going so well, and not 5 seconds after we hung up, Darren scored for the first time. Talked for a few minutes, and he scored for the second time � I was hobbling to the phone to call Natahood back, but she not being on crutches got there first, so as I was picking up the phone, it rang again. I think there was at least one more phone call, after the third goal in a row (true hat trick � so sweet) and we talked through the end of the game. So apparently the secret is, everytime we hang up, something good happens for the Wings. That's gonna be our system through the rest of the playoffs, apparently.

So then the game went off, and I took a nap on the couch until Mark got home about 8 and watched most of the game, although he already knew the score when he got home so I couldn't tease him and spoil it. Oh well.

Sunday sucked, big time. Not sure why, but Mark had to sleep again most of the day, and I was just so depressed � thinking of all these things I want to do, but just can't. And fucking 45 degree weather in May is not helping in the least. Everything but my pansies look really sad. I pretty much vegged on the couch feeling sorry for myself all day, watching Trading Spaces without even the heart to make fun of the sorority girls whose houses they were redoing. Sad.

Got Blue up around three, and of course started crying; I feel awful, because I know he wants me to feel better and just doesn't know what to do for me anymore; it has to be terribly annoying to be living with someone who is just randomly bursting into tears. He went out and mowed the lawn, and I took a bath; don't know why I hadn't thought of that before. It does help calm me. If only we had a water heater that didn't give out before the tub filled up. Sigh. Sweet Blue boiled water for me on the stove and added it to my bath; it was almost like Frontier House without all the whining and bitching, only the crying.

So anyway, then he went to mow the lawn, and as he was getting ready to leave to pick up YMB, Mom and Dad showed up with our trees. Yay! Don't know if I've mentioned this before, but my dad has like a zillion trees out back at their property, and he let us pick out a couple and promised to come plant them. We had to get our "landscape plan" approved by the company that runs our little "modular housing development," but that wasn't a big deal. So now our front yard sports a lovely little fir tree and a spindly but growing tulip tree, and we have a gorgeous black cherry in the side yard. Mom and Dad could tell I wasn't having a good day, they always can, so Dad went ahead and planted everything, even though it wasn't even 50 out, and Mom sat inside and kept me company; we ended up cleaning out the utility room and putting things away that have been in boxes since we moved, so I actually felt by the time we left that we'd accomplished something. Blue was very impressed with our improvements, as well.

So YMB came back full of news about this puppy, which they named Brandy, of all things, and how cute and wonderful she is, as opposed to our pets, I guess, and had a dozen polaroids to put up in his room, and YET ANOTHER giant stuffed dog. I wonder what the Dementors are going to do when they remember that he's almost nine and really isn't going to want stuffed animals much longer. He's got approximately 738 already, almost all from them. Which they invariably send back with him. Interesting how when he lived there, if we sent so much as a photograph or a dinky present, it disappeared, but they send him home every time with a load of crap that he certainly doesn't need.

Went to sleep on the couch last night after Blue left, and woke up at 4 to find a cat draped over my face and that Sophie had peed, yet again, on the rug. Removed cat, cleaned that up as best I could in sleep stupor, hobbled to actual bedroom followed by dog and cat, who promptly resumed their places on top of me as soon as I lay down. Slept a couple more hours and Blue woke me up when he got home, so he could take YMB to school and me to work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Very off and on this morning. Woke up distinctly grumpy with urge to whine at Blue for no real reason other than to make sure everyone else was as grumpy as me. Couldn't get cast back on properly as cats have disappeared with Velcro thingies that are supposed to hold it together, so currently held together with strapping tape and wrapped with Ace wraps. No pain medicine left this morning, so got to work in very bad mood and on and off crying in cubicle. Blue showed up a few minutes ago with med refill and I'm starting to feel better already. I just can't let myself get into these moods. I have control over them, I do. I just tend to forget that when the foot is hurting like a son-of-a-bitch (and exactly how does a SOB hurt, anyway? Where does that phrase even come from?)

Favorite phrase off a cataloged item so far this morning, ca. 1660. "By a serious yet moderate oppugner of the enemies of his Prince and Country." I like that, oppugner. I am a serious oppugner of the way Buffy keeps getting preempted for sports. Like, I had to read the whole recap of Tara getting killed and Buffy almost getting raped on TWP, which is fine because they don't leave anything out, but still. Annoying. My tv guide is still saying that the finale is on tomorrow, and it damn well better be, because otherwise I will be tempted to go all black magic and flay someone myself. As if I could. But still. Annoying. At least I remembered to tape the X Files finale last night. Haven't watched it in ages, as my interest pretty much left with Mulder, but knew he would be back and heard rumors of Scully-Mulder kissyface. Haven't watched it yet, as I knew Blue and YMB would get home right in the middle and I wouldn't get to see anything anyway. Don't know when next time is I'll be alone and able to watch it, along with the Buffy finale that damn well better be on on Tuesday. Then watched parts of Cosby reunion thingy on other tv after YMB went to bed, which alternately had us marveling at how much we appreciate some of the humor now that we are parents, and cringing at the clothes and hairstyles. So 80s. And yet I can remember how everyone was totally into that show. The first MustSeeTV night. Whatever. When did I turn into this freaking tv addict? Jeez. Gotta stop that. But when you're home on your butt every day for a month, and have no motivation to do much of anything, and then break your foot and really can't do anything, I suppose it's unavoidable.

I was tearing up off and on when I got here this morning, but I'm feeling better now. And mom said she would pick me up and take me out to dinner or something, so we'll see. It would probably do me good to get out of the house, since Blue's goal tonight is apparently to "help" YMB clean his room, and that's never a pretty sight. Or sound, for that matter.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bizarre google hit of the day, no. 1: bar mitzvah puberty pictures

no. 2: large ketchup packets

no. 3: coloring pages of hobos (for which, by the way, I am the no. 1 hit in France. Huh.)

Just insert your own jokes here, folks. I'm too tired.

11:35 a.m. - May 20, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: