caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

quilt

A picture of my newest baby quilt. Someday I'll actually do a quilt for me!

9:39 p.m. - November 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving pt 2

Highlights of my Thanksgiving weekend:

� Managed to miss both family dinners. Showed up early for Blue family dinner to discover someone had forgotten to plug in the big cooker containing the turkey. Ate some bread and dip. Departed for Caerula family dinner, got there just as they were finishing up. Ate leftovers. Spent a couple of hours chatting with sisters and playing with nephew, hereafter known as Squirt. Returned to Blue�s family in time for desert and football. So apparently even the worst laid plans gang aft aglay.

� Received several compliments on haircut and weight loss. Yay me.

� Took Squirt to see Santa. At the mall. With Mom and Kitty. Three stores, two complete changes of baby clothes, one feeding, and one visit to Santa: 4 hours. Eek.

� Highly profitable shopping expedition all the same: Christmas presents at Waldenbooks (I had a coupon) and three desperately needed tops for me at Lane Bryant (again, a coupon). Total spent: under $100.

� Changed a couple of Squirt�s diapers. Hence the nickname.

� Finished quilt for baby of Lesbian Cousins (picture to follow).

� Silently seethed at Asshat BIL, being even more asshattish than usual.

� Attended Gramma�s 79th birthday party (not the insane grandma, the nice one). Chatted with pregnant-with-twins cousin, who is All. About. Twins now. Got tired of conversations about pregnancy and birth and hid in bathroom.

� Got peed on by Minnie�s highly excitable dog.

� Visited Lesbian Cousins� three-week-old baby. Climbed on (but not peed on) by adorable weiner dogs named Katie and Bubba.

So a decent weekend, although involving far too much in the way of bodily fluids. Back to work tomorrow. Ugh.

9:53 a.m. - November 30, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving

Don't worry about how my Thanksgiving went. Just go read this; it should give you a pretty good idea.

8:09 a.m. - November 28, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving blues

That Thanksgiving I was looking forward too? Shot all to hell. FIL called last night to inform Blue that �they found a mass.� I have details only via Blue, and FIL is never very good at repeating what the doctors actually say to him, so all I know is that the doctor �thinks it�s cancer� and that they want to do some sort of surgery right away. Apparently there�s what looks, on an ultrasound, like a tumor in his lymph nodes. No mention of a biopsy, which I�d think they�d want to do before committing to surgery, so I�m not sure exactly what we�re dealing with yet. Maybe � probably, considering FIL�s health and 45 years as a smoker � cancer, but there�s nothing definite yet. It may seem cold of me to say that I don�t see the point of worrying and upsetting everyone until we know something for certain, but I can�t help feeling that way.

So it�s crappy and selfish of me to be upset about Thanksgiving, yet I am. Blue�s parents weren�t planning on doing dinner, but now they�re going to be attending the family dinner at one of the cousins� house, and would like it if we came. Blue wants to, of course, and I totally understand; it�s just weird for me not to be at my parents for Thanksgiving. Thus the guilt over being selfish. The families are serving dinner at approximately the same time � 1 pm, because we�re Southern, y�all, and we eat early � which makes it difficult to split the day up in any reasonable way. One of the things I was most looking forward to was seeing Kitty and nephew, and it�s doubtful we�ll manage that because Kitty�s husband is an asshat and is insisting they leave my parents house by 4 to go see his parents, even though they aren�t doing dinner and have all day Friday to spend with CF and family as well. We�ll make it back to my parents, but it�s nearly an hour�s drive and we most likely won�t make it before Kitty has to leave. Which means that YMB won�t get to see them at all, because he has to go to the Dementors for the weekend, and Kitty won�t be back until Friday night after the kid�s left. I hate working out the logistics of family stuff, it�s just so stupid. So Blue�s upset because of his dad, naturally, and my mom�s upset because she was looking forward to all her kids being under one roof for once, and YMB�s upset because he loves Kitty and CF and won�t get to see them, besides which he hasn�t seen the baby since the day Kitty came home from the hospital. Mom doesn�t have any picture of the two of them together, either, which is another reason she�s upset, even though everyone is planning on being home around New Year�s for our family holiday thingy, and we will all see each other then, including YMB.

Sigh. Now I understand why some people decide to forget the whole thing and run away to Florida.

2:06 p.m. - November 25, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: