caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

television with much pity

So yeah, I was a total tv whore last night. 8:05 found me sitting in the doorway of the den, from where I can see both tvs. American Idol on one and the Buffy finale on the other. Because our VCR isn't hooked up, I could only record one, and stupid TiVO knock-off means you have to watch whatever you are recording. I mostly watched Buffy and paid attention to AI during the commercials, and then at 9 watched AI while working on YMB's costume for the Michigan history week play tomorrow. And redialing, of course.

A personal vow, by Caerula: Never again will I allow myself to care so much about what happens to either real or fictional people on my television. I seriously squicked Blue out last night, and even kind of disturbed myself.

That said, I thought Buffy was pretty good, although I was disappointed that there were loose ends left dangling. So the time wonk was just sloppy writing? Giles's un-Giles-ness also without explanation? What exactly was the weakness in the Slayer line? The entire freaking town was deserted for no real reason, and now thousands of people are homeless? There were hundreds of Notsferatus under the Seal of Watchamacallit? What was the First's plan, anyway? Dawn's still alive? Anya's dead, and freaking Kennedy is still alive?

There were moments that made up for it � the scene with the four core Scoobies in the hallway ending with Giles's "the world is definitely doomed." The snarky drawing of Angel that Spike taped to the punching bag. The stupid "cookies" speech, which was classic Buffy nonsense. The D&D bit: "I used to be a highly respected Watcher, now I'm a wounded dwarf with the mystical strength of a doily?"

Goodnight, Sunnydale. I'll miss you.

And AI: go Clay! For all his inherent cheesiness (or perhaps because of it) I lurve that boy. And not only does he have talent, he's a genuinely good person who deserves success. Can't beat that with a stick.

In other news, gah. I'm ill. Went to the doctor yesterday who started me on a new drug, which hopefully will replace at least two of the ones I'm currently taking. It's a fairly powerful one, the one I mentioned a few months ago that has been used in much higher doses as a chemo drug. Started me off yesterday with a shot of it, so it gets in my system faster, and not only is my arm hugely sore, I feel terribly nauseated. Managed plain popcorn for lunch so I feel a little better now, but still bleah. Intended to go work out today � I'm still trying to make it to three times a week, but have only been averaging two � but I don't think I'll make it. Don't really want to get sick and squick everyone there.

3:26 p.m. - May 21, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: