caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

until the real thing comes along

I�m reading Until the Real Thing Comes Along, by Elizabeth Berg. Kitty recommended it. It�s good � really good, I wish I could write with that kind of voice � but so far, god, it�s depressing. I�m about a third of the way in. The main character, the woman, is 35 years old, and all she wants is a husband and a baby. She�s funny about it, wry, but you can just feel this bone-deep longing she has. There�s this bit where she describes her imaginary kids � the way this one�s hair looks, what the toddler does while he waits for the older kids to get home from school � that�s just heartbreaking. I can�t take it. And of course she�s in love with totally the wrong guy, the guy she can�t ever have. I can totally see myself as this woman, if Blue hadn�t come along. God, I�m lucky. And yet I still want more.

7:47 p.m. - March 02, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: