caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wednesday adventures

I've had a zillion hits this week from One Fat Bitchypoo. Seriously, she linked to my entry about being fat, and the hits started rolling in. This chick is EXTREMELY popular. Additionally, from the poking around I've done on her site, she seems pretty awesome. She's lost like 150 pounds in the past year, and she looks absolutely fantastic. And she seems pretty sensible and not fanatic about it. I wish I had her motivation.

The other place I've gotten hit from is 3 Fat Chicks. This looks to be a great, very supportive forum for fat people. For some reason, I just never really thought about there being this many people out there who care so deeply about these issues. As Natalieeee said, this thing's got legs.

And Susan Ager? I know she got a ton (heh, no pun intended) of responses to her fat column, but aside from her initial responses to me and the other people who I know wrote her, there's been nothing � no follow-up column, which I kind of expected today, and no response to the second letter I wrote her, in which I answered some specific questions she posed, which made me think she must be planning another column on this. It will be interesting to see if she does bother to follow up on this.

Apparently, April really is the cruelest month:


You are T.S. Eliot
Your are introspective and have an affinity for creatures that purr. You also have a tendency to doubt yourself. You can see the beauty in the world - don't let it pass you by!

Take the Which Poet are You? Quiz - brought to you out of boredom and pretention!

(Thanks, Geni, for the link.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday adventures: Yesterday, as you may recall, I had the day off and took YMB to a quilting class. He took to it like a duck to water, to use a hackneyed phrase, and finished his stuffed-animal-sized quilt in three or so hours. Designed it, picked out the colors, sewed the fabric squares into a pattern on the machine in fairly straight seams, added a border, added back and batting, the whole thing. I was very proud of him, and told him so ~ not just because he did such a great job, he's obviously got a natural talent and a great eye for color and design ~ but because he sat for nearly four hours, listened to the instructor, used the machine properly instead of goofily, didn't give the little girls in the class a hard time, didn't play with the scissors and pins and needles, and saw the project all the way through to the end. What a great accomplishment for him! And he is so awfully proud of his quilt; he couldn't wait to come home and show Blue. And Blue, good for him, was very enthusiastic about it. We don't go in for any of that "this is for boys, that's for girls" stuff in our house.

I, on the other hand, managed to make a complete ass of myself by falling down the stairs at the quilt shop. It was my own stupid fault; against all common sense yesterday I decided I just couldn't bear to put on my socks and ankle boots that I've been wearing all winter, and broke out the sandals. Even though it was only like 50 degrees out, it was sunny, and there was a springy feeling in the air. So I wore my sandals, conveniently forgetting that I tend to be more wobbly on them due to the complete lack of ankle support, and as a result, slid down an entire wooden staircase on my butt. I have a huge purple bruise on my butt, a nice colorful one blooming on my heel, and red welts on my left wrist where I tried to catch myself when I fell. Of course everyone in the shop ~ including the kids, upstairs ~ rushed over to see if I was ok, and I'm sitting there on the bottom step like an idjit. Gargh.

In other news, before that little adventure, I left YMB happily sewing fabric squares together and did a Target run. Target is conveniently located down the street from the quilt shop. I bought clearance Easter candy, but was fairly good about it, very little of it was actually chocolate. Sweetarts and jelly beans (Smuckers Puckers, which are even better than the Starburst jelly beans, I think). And shampoo and a new toothbrush for YMB (it lights up) and odds and ends like that. And clothes. Woohoo. There was a ton of stuff on clearance, as they are obviously clearing out for the summer merchandise, and I bought two pairs of pants ~ one an adorable pair of red capris ~ a nice striped Oxford shirt, and a cute red & pink & yellow striped tshirt. I'm just so tired of all my blah clothes. I need bright colors. And I found that Target actually carries an appropriate size for me; in their women's section, some of the stuff comes in "0X" which seems to be the equivalent of a 14/16, but cut more generously, so that my boobs aren't busting out all over (appropriate for June, as the song says, but not so much for my tits). Yay! The capris are too long, of course, with my short stubby legs, but I think I can hem them. And the khakis are actually the right length � although I think they're supposed to be capris too. Oh well, they look ok. The dress shirt is sort of fitted, but stretchy, and with the new khakis, it's very flattering, since it nips in at the waist a bit. At least, I think it looks good. So there.

At Target, I saw John-my-high-school-boyfriends's mother. She recognized me as soon as I said her name, and was just so happy to see me; with her was Jmhsb's little girl, three-and-a-half years old. Sigh. Jmhsb is not only married, he has a child. I last saw Jmhsb the summer before grad school, so that was � geez, nearly seven years ago, plenty of time to get married and have a child. But still. The boy who took three weeks to work up the nerve to hold my hand ~ and this was after we were a couple ~ has a child. And of course Jmhsb's mom asked if had a family yet, and of course I ended up explaining far too much, as usual ~ "well, no, well yes, I got married a couple of years ago, he has a little boy, I have a stepson, he's 8, yes, he's living with us, yeah, haha, instant family, no, we haven't had any more yet, we're working on it�" and which point I usually fade off into embarrassed silence. Ah well. Anyway, it was nice to see her, I have fond memories of hanging out in her kitchen after play rehearsals my freshman year. And the little girl is of course adorable, told me all about how she's growing her bangs out and that's why there were so many barrettes in her hair, but they fall out all the time and her hair falls in her face, and Grandma was taking her to McDonalds because she was so good at the store, and last summer she went on a trip and met her other grandparents and her great-grandma for the very first time, they had to go on an airplane! I just wanted to pick her up and breathe her in, her little straggling curls and denim overalls and Powerpuff Girl sneakers.

And later, at the quilt shop, one of the owners came in with her 2-year-old little boy, who clearly was having a very good day. "I have juice!" he announced to everyone. "Look, juice! bendy straw! juice!" To be so happy due to fruit drink and a straw. That's why people keep having kids despite all the crap in the world. Because they know what's important.

I can't even go to the store anymore with getting sideswiped by baby lust when I'm least prepared. God, I want one.

Anyway. That's all for today. Back to work.

9:59 a.m. - April 04, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: