caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pox and puppies

Took today off work again. I'm really working practically part time at this point, and I'll be off tomorrow and Friday for court. Good thing Boss is very understanding.

Left early yesterday, went to the pet store and picked up dog food, bowl, treats, a chew toy, and a stuffed squirrel (go ahead and giggle, Phelps and Natalie. I did).

Then went to the humane society. Turned in my paperwork, took the puppy for a walk -- she pulls really bad, so she obviously not used to walking on a leash, but she did sit on command and responds to "no." Then went back inside to be told that I could not take this dog, as they had called our apartment complex (info we had to provide on the paperwork) and were told they had a two pet limit, and we already have two cats. Like they really enforce that, or anyone around here pays any attention to it. I explained that we are moving to a house, and this is our last month here. The response was "Come back when you move." I went to the car in tears, feeling ridiculous because I had just met this puppy and was already heartbroken over it. I called Mom on the cell phone since I had to talk to someone, and I didn't want to talk to BigBlue since he was home with YoungBlue and YB didn't know anything about this. Then I went home, BB met me in the hallway and said Mom had called him and she and Dad were going to the Humane Society to see if they could adopt her.

To make a long story short, Mom & Dad lied their butts off and adopted the dog in their name. The funny thing was, to get the adoption approved, they had to bring their dog (MoJo the Wonder Dog) back to meet this one and see if they got along. Which is good, because they may end up keeping her for a few weeks while we're moving.

So last night after BB left for work, YB took a bath, and a nap, and while he was lying on the couch watching tv, Mom came over and told him about the puppy. He was completely shocked, overwhelmed, and happy, but he was feeling so yucky that he couldn't do much but grin. He is completely covered with spots, poor thing -- all over him, in his ears and eyelids, even on his tongue and the roof of his mouth. He can hardly eat, and can't sleep. The last two nights his slept in our bed with us, and has woke up crying several times. It's awful. I know chicken pox is just one of those things, but I didn't remember how horrible it is.

Since his fever hadn't gone down much and he was still so uncomfortable, we took him to the doctor today. That's why I stayed home; with our schedules BB couldn't make it to work and take YB to the doctor and go by the store to replenish our supply of calomine and Benadryl and all that. And I was going to come home early anyway.

Took YB to the doctor and he has strep on top of the chicken pox; that's why he's been sooooo sick. He had strep a couple weeks ago; apparently he never quite got over it, and strep and chicken pox are related. So now he has medicine again, and I hope will be feeling better soon; I hate seeing him so miserable on top of being so stressed about court.

After the doctors, though, we met Mom and Dad and Mo the Wonder Dog at the Human Society and introduced YB to our new puppy. It went very well; she is very friendly, and a little jumpy but so smart I think we can train that out of her. She's a gorgeous blue merle Australian Shepherd, and she was a stray. (She looks a little like this, but she's more black and gray then white. Mom took pictures.) I think she had been someone's pet; she sat on command, took treats, and didn't mind Mo or all these other people in the least. Mo was a bit territorial; he barked and growled when she jumped up on YB and me, but got over it. YB suggested Beth for a name. My vote was for Matilda, Tillie for short, and BB likes Maggie. We'll see.

We can't bring her home until Saturday, since she still has to be spayed, and of course Mom & Dad have to go pick her up since they know me there. I think she and YB are going to be great friends and I think it's exactly what we need right now. I can't wait to bring her home.

It perked YB right up, too. Now he's sitting up eating a popsicle and watching Disney while I write this, and explaining something or other to me about Star Wars droids which I'm not totally following. I'm glad he's feeling better.

Court tomorrow. I'm just not thinking about it, that's all.

2:55 p.m. - 2001-06-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: