caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the good wife's guide

Is it a law? I can be working steadily for two or three hours, and the minute I click over to email or my diary Grandma Boss walks into the cubicle. And she never says anything, just looks, and manages to make you feel guilty. The project we're working on now, however, is sooo incredibly boring that I've been worse than usual about wasting time. I'm looking at huge Notepad files of MARC tags to find ones that were truncated in the process of being uploaded to our databases. Not fixing them, not doing anything about it, just scanning page after page looking for incomplete tags, and marking them. Ugh. I'm developing a facial tic.


I have to share something a co-worker just gave me. It's a photocopied page from a magazine called Housekeeping Monthly, 13 May 1955. I'll just share a few of the highlights, for how to act when your husband gets home from work.

    • Prepare yourself. Take 15 minutes to rest so you'll be refreshed when he arrives. Touch up your makeup, put a ribbon in your hair and be fresh-looking.
    • Be a little gay and more interesting for him.
    • Catering for his comfort will provide you with immense personal satisfaction.
    • Take a few minutes to wash the children's hands and faces, comb their hair and change their clothes. They are little treasures and he would like to see them playing the part. Encourage the children to be quiet.
    • Let him talk first -- remember, his topics of conversation are more important than yours.
    • Never complain if he comes home late or goes out to dinner, or other place of entertainment without you.
    • Don't complain if he's late home for dinner or even if he stays out all night. Count this as minor compared to what he might have gone through during the day.
    • Arrange his pillow and offer to take off his shoes.
    • Don't ask him questions about his actions or question his judgment or integrity. Remember, he is the master of the house and as such will always exercise his will with fairness and truthfulness.
    • A good wife always knows her place.


    I really don't think I can add to that. Except that if I ever behaved in this manner, BB would think I'd been kidnapped by aliens.

    8:55 a.m. - 2001-06-27

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: