caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sleeping in

Heh. Waking in a semi-comatose state this morning, I turned my alarm off at 6 a.m. and went right back to sleep, waking fully at 8:30. BB was up and in the process of taking Sophie out; when asked why he didn't wake me he said, "I figured you'd called in." While I love his sweetly naive delusion that I generally know what I'm doing and have things under control, in situations like this it would be nice if he assumed the worst. So I got to work approximately two hours late, only to discover, when I rushed into GB's office to let her know I'd arrived, that she hadn't yet noticed I wasn't immured in my cube. So nice to be noticed.

BB did have good reason to think I might have called in. Leaving the 'rents yesterday, I missed a step off the porch and had yet another nasty fall (which I think brings me up to 5 for the year) and whacked my lower back on the edge of the step, and landed pretty hard on my left arm. Back is sore, and arm is scraped and bruised, but fortunately that seems to be the extent of my injuries. We were out of Tylenol PM, so I ended up taking a Trazadone (left over from January) to get to sleep, thus, I'm sure, the oversleeping. That ankle surgery is looking more and more unvoidable.


We had a decent 4th. Sleeping in was a highlight, as always, and in the afternoon Mom & Dad had a barbeque. Minnie and EngineerBoy showed up, as well as Grandma, SmartKid's mom S, and Mom & Dad's across-the-street-neighbor Rosie the Riveter. I had YB's quilt to finish up, so for the early afternoon I hid out in the sewing room and quilted on Mom's machine, which is much nicer than my hand-me-down. And Grandma had Rosie to talk at all day, so she was occupied and didn't say anything terribly rude to us. Minnie, EB, and S were all enchanted by Sophie, who'd we'd brought for company for Mo the Wonder Dog, and Rosie was as sweet as ever to me and BB, who she likes due to his propensity towards cleanliness. We ate outside, chatted about Auntie and SmartKid in England, wedding plans, and moving plans, and watched the dogs playing, and so it was a nice laid-back day. After everyone else had left (Minnie and EB, in their pre-wedding social whirl, had another party to go to) BB and I decided to stay and watch "Miss Congeniality" with Mom & Dad, which was funnier than I expected. We'd considered going to Top of the Park, but they were showing "Yankee Doodle Dandy" and BB is not a big fan either of musicals or James Cagney. So even though I love that movie, I didn't insist. Then we left for home, I fell, and we went home and crashed while I worried that I'd broken my wrist. Which fortunately I had not.
Yay! I have gotten my first google hits! How exciting is that?
making + salmon + sorbet (Why on earth would you want to do that???)
papillion + dog
its + a + blue + world (Someone who may have actually been looking for me! Or, maybe not.)

I feel so loved.

1:46 p.m. - 2001-07-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: