caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i'm boooored

I have gotten work done today. A lot of it, as a matter of fact. It's just that what I'm doing is so INCREDIBLY boring. And it's not computer work, so I've barely been on all day and haven't been able to fake-work by quickly switching screens when someone comes by. Instead I'm scanning gazillions of database printouts, looking for whatever cataloging or coding error caused the database to not accept the record. This is going to go on for weeks, possibly months, because there are 64,000 and something records, and there are only 4 of us to do the proofing.

But in the meantime I've been surfing bunches of quilt and fabric shopping sites, looking for fabric with which to make some sort of something for Dad. I've made Mom a throw, and YB a quilt for his bed, now, so I need to do something for Dad. But men are terribly hard to find aprropriate themes that work nicely in to a quilt, although I've found some nifty tractor and cowboy prints, both of which make me think of Dad. How to work it into an actual design, I have no idea yet.

I'm fairly please with the way YB's quilt turned out. I gave it to him yesterday, and he seemed happy with it as well (as happy as an 8 year old boy is going to be about getting a quilt). I'll get a picture scanned in ASAP, but I just haven't had time yet. I made mega mistakes in the quilting, and kept getting little wrinkles that I had to just sew down, but I think that's a fairly common thing and it's something that will get better with practice. I want to do a quilt for Minnie's wedding, too, but that's not until December so I do have time to do a really careful job on it, which I didn't have with either Mom's or YB's quilts. I've been doing a lot more stitching lately, too; I have to find the right kind of USB cable for the digital camera so I can get my works-in-progress craft passage up and running. (I was inspired by N's so I'm stealing the idea from her, but she stole it from someone else so that's okay.) I bought a cable at Target the other day but of course it doesn't have the right kind of plug for the camera. Aargh.

It seems like I had something else I really meant to write about, but it's gone. Passages is turning out to be just as amazing as I supposed it would, now that I'm a little over half-way through it. When I got to the point that seemed like it was supposed to be the "shocker" I had this utter sense of being cheated, that Willis was buying into a popular mania (I won't say which one for fear of spoilers), but it turns out that it's so much more than that -- she takes this very pop culture phenomena and turns it completely upseide down. So even though there's a brief moment of let-down, that the big twist is going to be a cop-out, it's not at all. What a brilliant writer.

I have a dentist appointment tomorrow, as does YB, and then Wednesday we go back to court to hear the judge's decision. It's going to be a long week.

2:32 p.m. - 2001-07-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: