caerula's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's at least pretend to be grown-ups, please

More List trauma yesterday. Fortunately for me and Phelps, not so fortunately for dichroic, the trama is mostly on the adjunct, OT list which dichroic moderates. It's just more of this juvenile, clique-y behavior, the result more of misunderstandings than deliberate flaunting of List conventions. But it's very frustrating, especially when a dozen people are suddenly posting in objection to an official decision. It's not like we have that many rules, especially compared to some lists; almost nothing is off-topic, we don't tell people how much they can post or when, we give lots of warnings, and in general everyone is fairly polite and there are almost never flames. But lately the atmosphere has been fraught with tension, and there's not a whole lot we can do about it. It probably sound silly to even worry about this; it's such a minor thing in the grand scheme of things. But I get the feeling that our lists are important to a lot of people, and any list with 700+ members is going to have some kind of presence in cyberspace. Besides which, most of the moderators have been with us from the very beginning, and we do feel, I think, like we've been a part of creating something positive. At least I've felt like that until the last few months. Now, I don't know. It's getting to be more like every other list I've been a part of: a small, cliquey group of hard-core posters, who are nice on the face of things but critical of newcomers and moderators, gossipy and defensive. I can get that in real life every day; I don't need to deal with it in my inbox. I think at this point we're just sort of hoping things die down naturally and we can get somewhat back to normal by the fall.

Not much else to speak I've. I had a relatively quiet night; YB was at the waterpark with Buttercup (SmartKid's sister) and her mom, S, until 8ish. I had the place to myself and things were quiet, except for several calls from Dementors wanting to know where YB was. Finally, in passive-aggresive mode, I went online and stayed on until they got back as so not to have to deal with it. We watched Powerpuff Girls and Dexter together until YB went to sleep on the couch, and the BB got home and we discussed the possibilities for vacation (we're thinking San Diego, the last week of August) and then I went to bed and had weird dreams until my alarm went off and it started all over again.

8:10 a.m. - 2001-07-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: